Bad Friday

Posted: June 12, 2015 in blog, kids, parenting, tween, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Oldest has a follow up appointment with the Endocrinologist next Tuesday. Well she did. They called me this past Tuesday saying that I had not went in to have her do the 2 hour glucose test. I had put it off so long that I was going to just cancel the appointment anyways. They asked me if I could take her in this week. I told them the earliest would be Friday and would that be enough time for them to get the results. It was. So we made plans to get up early today and get out of here since she had to fast from midnight on. She is fine with no food, but she couldn’t even have a drink of water. Little L is usually my alarm clock. Always around 7 to 7:30, except for the days I absolutely need her to wake me up. I woke up at 8:06. Not even thinking about having to get up I did anyways since my bladder was calling. I was in the bathroom when I remembered we had to go. I got Oldest up and she went in to get ready. Then L decides she is going to throw an ever loving fit over a popsicle. I was trying to make her a waffle and she was screaming like a banshee because I would not hand her what she wanted. I finally got her to calm down, I turned on Paw Patrol and set down and started to watch. She forgot about the frozen goodie and started eating the waffle.

We didn’t actually leave until 9:15. I had a quick errand to run before we could go to the lab. But it wasn’t so quick and it was going on 10 when we found the lab. Luckily it was only a few miles away and I got a great parking space right in the shade, which is a necessity here. We go inside and the receptionist is very nice and she takes our paper work. There were only a few people in the waiting area, so we should be seen pretty quickly.  One of the lab techs was talking with the receptionist and she seen my insurance and said that they didn’t accept the one I had. WTH? The receptionist apologized and the other lady pulled out a map and showed me where the next lab was that accepted it. Just right down the street. Cool. We get back in the car and head down the road. I thought the lady said it was on the left, so I turned. Oldest said no it was on the right. I got up in the parking lot for one of the hospitals and there was no where to go to pull over to look at the map again. I finally got turned around, and head out of the lot. I had to turn right because there was so much traffic, I could not go straight across. I decide to drive back down and get gas since my light came on while doing all this. When we finally get to the right place after another turn that was incorrect, you had to take a token to have the gate open. Oh great, how much is this gonna cost me? We find a place to park all the way at the end of the lot and walk the mile back up to the office. When we open the door, it is packed. Great, just great. The receptionist was not as nice as the other lady and I tell her why we are here and she says that they close for lunch and they couldn’t see her. But we could drive another so many miles and go to one that is opened at lunch time. Nope not gonna do it. Oldest was already saying her tummy was hurting and having no water in 100 degree weather just isn’t right. So we left the office and in the main area was the station to get your paid parking token. I didn’t know what to do, so I pushed the Help button. I told the man who answered that I was only there for a few minutes and did I still have to pay he said not if you are under 20 minutes. I said thanks, and we ran out of the building, made the trek to the car as fast as our feet could carry us. I was heading to the exit when this other car decided that he was just gonna set and block the traffic that was trying to leave. “MOVE DUDE!” We got up to the gate and I popped in the token and the arm raised and off I went. Oldest had packed a sandwich to eat on the way home. She had it on her lap and asked if she could have it now. “Yes baby, eat.” We got home and I called the doctors office that sent us to the wrong place. After telling them what happened, I cancelled the appointment and they have to send me new lab paperwork and after I get it done, I just have to call them to reschedule.

Now I have a huge headache and Little L won’t take a nap. For a Friday, this day sure has not gone the way I would have liked. Here’s to hoping the weekend is much better. 🙂

Comments
  1. April says:

    I think this sucky day calls for a glass of wine! Cyber cheers for a great weekend that is sure to be better than today 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OneBusyMama says:

    Oh no! I hate days like this and believe me….the doctors office would have gotten an earful from me. My thoughts are with oldest. Being pre-diabetic I have done a few of the glucose tests and HATE them.

    Hope your day got better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

