Now that I am not as mad, I can set down and write about it. What? You ask. Well I will tell you what.  In my recent posts about my daughter’s upcoming bithday and her cake that I am supposed to make,  oh, I know…not again! Another silly whiny post about a cake…blah blah blah. Sorry, gonna do it anyways.

In my recent posts, I said I ordered some cake toppers. The puzzle topper was first to arrive, now in the picture it shows it outlined in white. Which makes you think that it is plastic. I mean it is supposed to go on a cake with icing, right. So it should be plastic. WRONG! It is a very thin cardboard and it sets in a clear plastic container. Kind of disappointing but ok I will deal. Then today, the first package to come in was the big bird and elmo car set. Now these I am super happy with. They are cute and functional.  The mail lady pulled back in about 30 minutes later with another package.  Hey it’s the edible topper. Wait…this says it came from California,  I ordered it from Texas. I opened it and it was the right picture, but it is blurry. BLURRY!! I look in the envelope and there are no directions and then realize it is NOT personalized. I was fuming and crying. I opened up the Ebay account and it says that the seller offers NO refunds. You have to go through Ebay.

I have been totally ripped off!!

I feel as if I have failed again. My hubby thinks its no big deal. NO BIG DEAL!!  It is to me. She will only be 2 one time. Maybe I am making it out to be worse then it really is. But I always, always have to settle!  With the stupid money I wasted I could have just bought her the original cake the way I wanted to.

So here I am 4 days to go and have no idea what I am going to finally do or use. I am a little worried about the edible thing because I have no idea who made it or how it was handled. I have read on how to use them. They say they can be good up to a year as long as they are sealed. Since this is not personalized, it could be old. I have no clue and it scares me.

So what would you all do? Use it and hope for the best?  Send it back to Ebay, and use the other toys as a topper? Or just go buy the damn cake as originally planned?

HELP

Comments
  1. April says:

    ok… what kind of cake do you want to make?

    Liked by 1 person

    • momof1and10 says:

      Just a regular 9 x 13 sheet cake. I accidently picked up whipped frosting and I can’t use it if I use the edible topper.

      Like

      • April says:

        hmm.. so in the past I have taken actual photos and laminated them, cleaned it of course and placed on top of a cake… you could try that if you want a photo on it, you would just have to remember to take it off before cutting.. you could pipe a cute border around the picture so no one would really notice.. or in the past when one of my cake ideas have failed and it has at the last minute I just bought a cake and placed a some sterilized cute toys on top to decorate and pipe Happy Birthday .. etc. on it and my daughter loved it! It was a horse theme party so I placed little toy horses, piped some grass and added some little gates to make it look like the horse was behind a fence… Does that help? I would b super upset if I ordered an edible picture that turned out blurry and be pissed every time I looked at the cake,, that’s just me….

        Liked by 1 person

      • momof1and10 says:

        I just hate that I trusted this person to make a personalized topper and there is no way to get in touch with them about it. I have some ideas, I think I need to sleep on it. Thanks for your input!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • April says:

        Sure thing! Can’t wait to hear what you come up with.. I am sure it will be great 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. kleighann says:

    Just breathe and go with your gut. Do what you think will work best. You don’t want to look back and say *I wish I did ____ instead*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’d just buy the cake. Similar has happened to me in the past and I just get so frustrated, the cake would come out the way I wanted it too info tackled it so frustrated so I’ve just bought a cake and had done with it x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

