Reverse Psychology

Posted: September 16, 2015 in blog, funny, kids, parenting, toddlers
Tags: , ,

Whenever Little L is being bad, and that is a good percent of the time, we tell her she is being mean. Actually I say, “Don’t be a mean baby.” She comes back with, “me not mean baby, me nice baby.” So this has been going on for about a week or two. I hate telling her that she is being mean, but when I am at my wits end with her, that is one thing that come out. We go through this about every day. I try to change it up though and I ask, “Don’t you want to be a nice baby?” She says yes. “Then be a nice baby and do what is being asked.”

She did a turn on me last night at bedtime. Bedtime I really dread anymore. I used to look forward to it, but she is so hard to get to lie down.  Even if she doesn’t take a nap. Well yesterday, I got her to take a nap around 2 p.m. She slept till a little after 3. Not too bad. We go to lie down around 9 last night. Sis and daddy were all in the room watching t.v. Daddy made his escape after the show went off. Sis didn’t quite make it to the door, when L started fussing that she come back. “Ok ok, I will stay but you have to go to sleep.” Ok, Little L says and lies down. She was back and forth back and forth between me and Oldest about a dozen times. We both pretending we are asleep, but L just yells at us to wake up. After about 20 minutes of pleading with her, I ask, “Don’t you want to be a nice baby and go to sleep for mommy?” She rolls over towards sis and says, “No, me mean baby.” We thought we had heard her wrong and kept saying, “Yes, be nice baby.” Then we realized that she was saying she was a mean baby. Oh good grief. My reverse psychology just back fired on me.  🙂

 

Comments
  1. OneBusyMama says:

    Oh dear! If it makes you feel better….you aren’t alone! I’ve asked my oldest why he is such a bully to his little brother sometimes. “Mom…you shouldn’t say mean things. You could hurt someone’s feelings. Use your nice words!!” Lol! Hang in there mama!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

