Christmas Break

Posted: December 21, 2015 in blog, Christmas, cooking, December, kids, parenting, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Friday was the start of Winter Break for Oldest. Winter Break? No thanks, I say it’s Christmas Break. Always has been and always will be. Even Clark W. Griswold made a movie about it…Christmas Vacation people! Anywho…Oldest got sick on her first day of Christmas break. It started out with her throat feeling funny but not sore this went on for a couple of days and by Friday morning, I could tell that she was getting sick. The weekend wasn’t too bad, but now it has turned into a cough and snotty/runny nose. I have been getting some medicine in her, made chicken noodle soup and some hot tea, which she still hasn’t touched. I tell her it will help her throat. She won’t even take a sip, says it’s yucky. I guess she would rather bark her head off and be grumpy all week.

With that going on, I did get all the presents wrapped and yesterday braved the supermarket and got all the food for Christmas. I was planning on cooking Christmas Eve and then have leftovers on Christmas day. Oldest reminded me that last year, hubby got a little miffed at me for making dinner a day early. After she brought it up, I remembered how he gave us the cold shoulder all evening, until we finally hashed it out after the kids were in bed and we were putting out the presents. He says he wants the big dinner on the day, not the day before. Men!

We were invited to go down to his cousins on Christmas Eve and go out to eat, then stay the night. It was very nice of them, but we had to decline. First, we do our own thing on both days, Second, I knew my mom wouldn’t go. Third, their house is big, but it is pretty full so it would be uncomfortable to stay the night and Fourth, I want to see my kids open all their gifts on Christmas morning, not later that day.

Hope everyone is having a great Monday!

Thanks for reading! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

