The First Part of this Week…

Posted: May 22, 2015 in blog, family, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

The first part of this week really sucked, to put it mildly. Little L came down with a fever Saturday night. I noticed she was a bit warm around 1 a.m. Then she put her little foot on me and it was burning up. I woke up hubby and had him touch her forehead. Yep, fever. I gave her some motrin and she went back to sleep. She seemed alright Sunday morning when she first got up, but around 10 we gave her another dose. Then by 4 she was pretty warm again and we got out the thermometer. 102. Great. I called the on call nurse at her doctor’s office. She said that there was a tummy virus going around and to switch her over to Tylenol and get some Gatorade.  Be prepared for throwing up and diarrhea. If none of that happens by in the morning, and she still has a fever, take her in to be checked. I ran up to Walgreens and got Tylenol and Gatorade. Her temp went down and I gave her a dose of Tylenol at 7. Then again at 1 a.m., she woke up and was pretty warm again.  We turned on the t.v. and let her watch some cartoons while we cuddled on the couch and I worried. She made it back to bed and around 3 she had cooled down and was sleeping pretty well. I woke up around 8 and she was still asleep so I let her go until 9. She woke up, no fever, in a really good mood. Yeah…maybe it is over with, my hubby and I both thought. We watched her pretty closely all day then around her afternoon nap, she started feeling warm. Another dose of Tylenol and she went to sleep. Then…7 p.m. things got worse. Of course, always at night time. She got really cranky and tired. We gave her a dose and she fell asleep. Which is not like her at all. She woke up about an hour later still warm, but seemed better. We made the decision to take her to the doc the next morning. I beat myself up about it all night, I should have taken her in on Monday.  I got maybe 4 hours of sleep. I laid awake, listening to her breathing, touching her legs and feet and arms and forehead. I must have dosed off and woke up around 4. She was feeling warm again, so I gave her a dose of Motrin. It seems to work on her faster then Tylenol. Within a few minutes, she was cooling down and sleeping better. I rolled over and went to sleep. I made myself wake up around 7:30. Doc opens at 8 and you have to call for a sick child appointment. They could see her at 9:30. She woke up a little after 8. I got her ready and Oldest and I took her in.

As soon as I got parked at the office, she cried out. I asked what was wrong. Oldest said she was puking. Dammit, I forgot to grab her an extra shirt. And towel. I got her cleaned up the best I could with baby wipes. Oldest was trying hard not to throw up also.  I had to tell her to open her door and let some air in. She had tried to help by putting her hand under L’s mouth so her hand was full and pretty stinky. I certainly was not prepared for any of this. I told the receptionist that she got sick in the car and they gave her a bucket to throw up in if needed. She didn’t, thankfully. We made it through the exam and the doc said that sounded like a virus and to just keep doing what we were doing. If her temp was not gone by Friday, to bring her back for x-rays. They also had to take a throat culture to rule out strep. We came home and I gave her a bath and she took a nap. She only has thrown up one more time and it was more liquid then anything.

Her temp has stayed normal the rest of the week. Her appetite stinks though. She asks for food then doesn’t eat but more then 2 bites. But the throat culture came back negative. I figured it would, but was happy to hear it! 🙂

Comments
  1. Poor mommy and baby :(( glad she’s doing better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OneBusyMama says:

    Sounds familiar. BeanBoy was out with something similar last week. But….we also have strep going around and one of the 1yr olds at our daycare that he is in love with (he calls her his bunny baby) went out with similar symptoms but have strep! Glad yours was ruled out and hope the tummy bug goes away fast!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

