Archive for September 9, 2014

You know how the saying goes, “It’s all fun and games until someone gets poked in the eye!” And just like the title reads…it hurts and it hurts bad.

I was helping my oldest with her school work one morning and we were kinda goofing off, I have to say. When I leaned in at the same time she threw her arm up to put it around me. I saw her finger coming right towards my face and luckily ducked in time. We had a good laugh about it and went back to the lesson.

A few hours later, my hubby came in and we were in the kitchen talking about what went on that morning. He was standing at the sink getting ready to cut up a cantaloupe when Little L wanted to be picked up. I scooped her up, and continued talking with hubby. I then remembered the near miss that oldest and I had earlier that day. Right in the middle of the story, Little L started squirming and I turned to look at her, at the same time she flipped around and her tiny little baby finger poked me square in the left eye.

I immediately yelped and put her down. “She just poked me in the eye!” I stated, trying to hold back tears. My hubby said “Are you ok? Don’t cry.” Which was too late, I was in tears running to the bathroom. OMG I couldn’t believe how much it hurt. What the hell did that kid have on her finger? I got to the bathroom and washed it out. It was stinging like mad. After a bit more washing, it was starting to feel better and I could open it. All through the rest of the day, off and on, my eye would just pain. It felt like dirt had been thrown into it. I hadn’t felt anything like this since I got my Lasik back in 2007.

That night, my eye started watering. Just gushing water down my cheek. My hubby got me an ice cold wash rag and I had to hold it on my eye off and on for over 2 hours. I didn’t think I was ever going to get it to stop and go to sleep.  It got so bad, that I couldn’t even open it, unless I washed it out first with water. Then it started swelling. Oh yea, it swelled almost shut in like a few minutes. I finally fell asleep after 2 a.m. and I was dreading what it was going to look like in the morning.

When I got up, it was still swollen but not anymore then what it had that night. That was good, I thought. But, my plans for the day was to go grocery shopping. Joy! Someone is gonna think I got punched in the freaking eye! It watered on and off for a couple of hours then all of a sudden stopped. It was still puffy and red, but atleast I could see to drive. I went on to the store and no one asked what happened. Like they would believe your 13 month old did that much damage. My eye healed over the next day or so but I now I have a lovely twitch from time to time. My oldest pointed out that I have a vein that sticks out on my eyelid that was not there before.

So beware folks. Don’t let those cute little faces and sweet baby smiles fool ya. They can turn on you in a sec and then you too will have a poke in the ole eye! 😉

poke in the eye