Trip to the Zoo part 1-the drive

Posted: October 2, 2014 in family, funny, humor, kids, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Our family outing to the Zoo earlier this week was pretty nice. Since it was a school field trip, it only cost us 2 bucks a piece. Yes, you heard it 2 bucks! I could not believe it myself until I RSVP’d and confirmed the price. It was a bit of a drive for us, but with that price, who cares, right? The weather has finally cooled down a touch here, the nights are in the 60’s and the days are in the low 80’s. Perfect weather!

My oldest has been to a couple of zoo’s but she was 4 the last time we went, so this trip was long overdue.  Oldest was most excited to go. She looked up the zoo website and they had these little monkeys that she really wanted to see. We got up at 6 a.m., well let me put it this way, I got up at 6a.m. Oldest didn’t get out of bed till 6:40 although she said she would get up before 6 to make sure I was up. She stinks at being an alarm clock, I must add.  Hubby got up around 6:30 too, after I nagged him to death about it. We had mapped out the route the night before and he said he wanted to leave around 7:30. We were told to be at the main gate no later then 8:45. So with rush hour traffic and us living a good 40 minutes away, he wanted plenty of leeway. Now any other morning, my little L would be bright eyed and bushy tail come 7 a.m. Over the weekend she was wide awake before 7, both days. This particular morning, she wanted to sleep in, and it took the oldest and I both to wake her up. She sat on the bed staring at us. Total confusion in her tiny face. She finally made her way off the bed and then got really excited that everyone was up. She started playing ball, carrying it all around the kitchen and living room, wanting someone to bounce it or kick it so she could run after it. I was trying to get her to eat, but that wasn’t happening. Too much goings on! I went ahead and got dressed then quickly made her a bottle of milk. She drank with out any fuss. I was just glad she had something on her tummy. (This girl is used to 3 course meals in the morning.)

We were all ready by 7:30 when my hubby announces that he is going to go have a cigarette before we leave. UGH! I couldn’t believe I was killing myself to be ready by the time he said then it just comes to a halt. Well atleast it gave me time to check and recheck if I had everything for everybody. 10 minutes later we were loading up the truck. We started out pretty good, but then hubby had a bright idea to go this side street which then turns into the freeway. He didn’t want to get stuck in a traffic jam, so he makes a right turn onto another street that curves around and goes the opposite direction that we needed to go. After several minutes we get going the right way and we are making good time with the stop lights and all. But time is ticking away and the GPS kept saying the same amount of minutes altho we were getting closer. Which was making me nervous. It was 8:40 and we still had a few miles left before the turn off. My hubby then gets mad and says that they shouldn’t have people rushing through morning traffic. I told him I thought we were going to leave at 7:30. He then says I thought you said we didn’t have to be there till 9. OMG man, don’t you listen. I told him repeatedly, what time we had to be there. Within a few minutes of that drama, we were pulling into the parking lot. There were tons of people unloading and strollers going everywhere. Kids 2 and under are free and these momma’s were definitely taking advantage of that. We parked and I grabbed my bag and the oldest, and we headed up to the main gate. The teachers had on school t-shirts, luckily, so I got in line to pay and get our names checked off. We made it there right before 9, but they didn’t let us in the gate till 9:30. Then everybody was free to go their own way. And we did. We went the way that said restroom cause this momma had to go!

Stay tuned for Part 2. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

