Kicking and Screaming

Posted: March 4, 2016 in blog, family, kids, parenting, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Oldest had to go to the Library on Wednesday to find a book to read for her Literature class. About 2 times a year, they give her a list of books that she can pick from. The hardest part is finding one that our local library actually has on its shelf and not have to wait for it to be shipped from another location. I wasn’t going to take Little L, but hubby talked me into it. Saying that the more she goes, the better she will get about the whole thing. Which makes since, so the 3 of us loaded up and got out of here around 11:30. On the way, we have to pass the park. Little L starts talking about the park and how she wants to go. I told her the last time we went, which was sometime ago, she wasn’t very nice when it came time to leave. She kept asking me if we could go and I told her that if she was especially good in the library I would stop on the way home.

We got inside and made our way to the kid section while Oldest got her book she picked out. There were a few kids already there so it made it easy for L to stay. I went over to the nearest shelf which has the beginning reader books and right off the bat, found 3 books that I knew she would like. She came over to me and seen one of the books, a Monsters Inc. book, she said “You got me monsters!” I said “Yes, and look what else, 2 Wally Kazaam books.” She was really excited and carried them over to the seat to look at them. I was beaming at this point, giving myself silent high fives. I heard Little L pretending to read from one of the books. When I looked up she had a couple of the kids looking at her like she was really reading them. I thought this was super cute and went back to looking. She got up and left her books on the chair and started to play. One of the kids got up and picked up the stack and and yelled at his mom who was sitting on the side on her laptop. “Hey mom, are these mine?” I looked at her in horror, when she said, “no honey, they aren’t unless you…” I cut her off, “So sorry, those are my daughters, she carried them over there.” She said OK but she gave me the look. You know the “Geeze lady it is just a book” look, but dammit, I want those and my kid wants those. So bring on the looks lady I don’t care!

I found her several more and went to sit down while I waited on Oldest to get back from looking. I let L play for a while longer. She was doing really good and I didn’t want to try to drag her out. When there was only one child left I asked if she was ready to head to the park? She said and yes and bolted for the door. Oldest ran to catch up, luckily I had already checked the books out.

We got to the park and there were lots of kids. She played for the most part by herself, running from slide to slide. There was one girl that asked her if she wanted to play but it was more, watch what I am doing, but stay next to me. L watched quietly, while the girl scooped sand into a cup. We were there for about 45 minutes, when I told her that we needed to get ready to head on home. She said ok and wanted to go down the slide one more time. Well, that one more time, turned into 25 mores times, or so it seemed. She would not slow down and it was getting to where I was afraid she was going to fall and hurt herself from acting so darn silly. There was another mom there with her daughter and she smiled at me, but I felt the need to explain why my kid wasn’t listening to me. “She is the hardest kid to get to leave.” I said. She just kept on smiling. Oldest had come over and was trying to reason with L but she wasn’t listening to either one of us. When she came down the slide and headed back up the steps, we ambushed her, to put it mildly, and I picked her up and carried her kicking and screaming to the car.

For the most part the day went well. We will have to see when she gets to go back to the park. I would love to take her a few times a week, the more she goes, the better it will be. But right now I feel like I am kid napping my own child every time we leave! 🙂

 

Comments
  1. Ice had that issue with my little one too. She atill gets fussy with me now but you’re right, the more you go the easier it will be.
    I always find it easier if I tell her we’re going somewhere else other than home. When we go to the park, I tend to tempt her into coming to visit the church (which is on the way home) and it makes everything much easier lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OneBusyMama says:

    Been there dear! It’s never easy but it does get better! Maybe tempt her with something she likes at home! “Let’s go home and do…..” Or “should we go home and check on *insert stuffed animal name here*”

    Liked by 1 person

    • momof1and10 says:

      Nope my kid has caught on to my tricks. Today we went back to the park. She was fine until I said time to go. I tried everything. Still had to carry her to the car and then she wouldn’t get up in her car seat. She got so upset that even after we got home, she cried for an hour. We are wanting to go to the zoo this week since it is spring break for oldest, but man she sucks all the fun out of it when she does this.

      Liked by 1 person

      • OneBusyMama says:

        I hear ya. It’s so hard but at least you know most parents there understand and are probably thinking “Ohhh I feel that poor mamas pain!”

        Maybe a special snack in the car
        For consumption on the ride home?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

