Stranger Danger and other Ramblings

Posted: December 16, 2015 in blog, Christmas, December, parenting, ramblings, toddlers, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Wow, this month is just flying by. Can’t believe Christmas is right around the corner, gaining on me. I haven’t wrapped nary a present and the house is still a mess from putting out decorations. That is my plan this weekend, sweep, mop, and vacuum. Even though I expect no company, I do want it to look nice for Christmas morning pictures. Tonight after Little L drifts off to sleepy town, Oldest and I are going to start wrapping her presents. I think I got everything that my budget could afford and then some, because you always have to buy stocking stuffers, ya know. I took my mom up to Walmart to finish up her list yesterday, without the girls. While we were there, 2 packages finally arrived in the mail and I got an email saying that something I ordered for my mom was ready for pickup at the store we were in. So it all came together at one time.

Today I got the girls out of the house and went back to the library. Oldest went to look for some books while L and I went into the children’s play area. There was another mom with a little girl there and the lady said hi to L. L said hi back and then the lady started asking her how old she was and what was her name. I heard L tell her her name, but she didn’t know what to say about her age. I intervened with my protective mother voice, and said she was 2 1/2. “How old is yours?” I asked. “Oh she just turned 2 in September.” “Oh ok,” I said. Then she told L how much she liked her shirt and her boots. L just stood there, not really doing anything. Then she asked her if she liked to read. L shook her head yes, which isn’t true, but who cares. I was sensing stranger danger and just wanted the odd lady to leave. Then she went over and sat down on the floor and started reading not to her daughter, but to mine. I got up and walked over to them, and L got up and ran off to where her daughter was. The lady got up and was looking a little embarrassed and said that her daughter wasn’t really interested in reading yet. I said L was the same. The other little girl went over and was sitting in a chair and could tell that L just wanted her to play with her. She got up and L decided that she was going to sit in the chair and the girl walked back over and pushed L. I didn’t see the push but I seen L holding her arm and the girls mom telling her to apologize. They hugged and all was fine. Then the lady seen another woman that she apparently knew and went to talk with her. I told L to stay in the play area and she did. Soon they left and L was alone. I let her pick out a couple of books and we came on home.

I told Oldest we would go back over Christmas break and maybe there will be more kids for L to play with, and no strange mom’s hanging around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

