School Days

Posted: December 14, 2015 in blog, parenting, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Oldest had a required class this morning for Math at 9 a.m. I turned on the computer around 8:30 to get the page up and check any teacher emails. I always go into the grade book at the beginning of the day and then at the end. She had been holding A’s in all her classes till a couple of weeks ago, when 2 classes fell to a B, Gum and Math. Gum is an easy fix, and she keeps putting it off. She just has to redo one assessment and get a passing grade on it.  I went into the math teachers webpage and she had posted a few ways for the students to get extra credit. Oldest jumped right on it and after I emailed the teacher about them, she earned an extra 15 points in the grade book. That has now brought her grade back up to an A at 90%. She did an Interim assessment in math today also and scored an 86, but that hasn’t been factored in since it isn’t due till Wednesday.

I went back into the grade book while all this was going on and like I said I check it every morning. She had an A in Science when I first looked. Then when I went back, it had dropped to a B just like that and she didn’t even have any assignments due today or at all this week. I instantly emailed the teacher to see what had happened. The only thing she said was to check it again in the morning and if it was still at a B, she would check into it. Excuse me? It was an A at 8:30. How could it go down without any lessons being submitted?

Oh and this is the clencher of the whole school day. The history teacher, whom I haven’t a problem with, sent an email saying that all lessons that are due this week were zeroed out in the grade book. As you do the lessons, your grade will come back up. So Oldest had been at a 92-93% for awhile, her grade after the teacher did this dropped to an 83. It’s a good thing I read the email before I seen her grade or I would have been through the roof. She did two of the “missing” assignments and her grade has already climbed to an 87. Three more to do and it should be back to where it is supposed to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

