Do You Believe?

Posted: December 14, 2015 in blog, Christmas, Daughter, December, family, kids, Santa, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

christmasbelieve

This was written last year around this time, and for the life of me I do not know why I didn’t post it. Read on…

My Oldest has always believed in Santa. She also believes that a fairy comes into her room and leaves money for her teeth, and that their is a big furry rabbit that scampers about at Easter, hiding eggs all about the house. You may think that she is too old for this. I might say I agree…atleast about the fairy and rabbit. But without believing in them, it may be hard for her to believe that there really is a Santa Claus. While we were painting on our crafts, she got to talking about Santa. “Mommy, some say that there really is no Santa Claus. Is that true?” I kept painting and said, “Well, they must not believe in him. If you believe, then he is real.” She was quiet for a moment then said, “OK, pinky swear that he is real.” We wrapped our pinkies together and I said, “As long as you believe honey, then there is a Santa.” She was quite happy with that and went back to her painting.

My hubby and my mom have both said that she knows that he isn’t real. I told them they are wrong. 1. Why would she bother to write a letter. 2. See above conversation.

She will catch on sooner or later. Maybe there is a tiny part of her that knows, deep down, that there isn’t a big guy in a red suit coming into your house and leaving those wonderful, expensive presents behind. But for right now, I am happy that she still wants to believe in him, ya know. And hopefully when that day comes, she won’t ruin it for her little sister, who is just finding out about this magical, wonderful time of year. šŸ™‚

Things have changed this year. Oldest did figure it out. I am rather relieved that she did. It was getting harder and harder to keep up the charade now that she is getting older. Now she can help me play Santa for her sister and so far, she is really enjoying it.

Comments
  1. OneBusyMama says:

    I dread the day my kids figure it out. But…. For the day they figure it out…I already know what I will say and do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

