Putting up the Tree

Posted: December 6, 2015 in blog, Christmas, December, family, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Last year, hubby brought in all the Christmas decorations around Thanksgiving. I thought that it was kinda early so this year, I told him to wait until the 10th to bring them in. But I couldn’t do it, I went out today and got the crates out of the garage, with his help of course, and brought the tree in. I put out some decorations throughout the afternoon and then after we had dinner, he helped me set up the tree. It is one of those pre-lit trees, and we have had it for several years now. Last year it had a few branches at the bottom not working, so we turned them around to the wall. This year, I have a whole row in the top that isn’t working. It has to be a blown bulb, hubby says. I turned off the living room light and it looks really nice other then that one area. Tomorrow we are getting out the crate that has my lights in it, so I will just string a set around the top and call it good. Later in the week I will let the girls put the ornaments on then I will go back later when they aren’t looking and fix them. It’s funny how particular you get over the years about where a certain ornament should be. I have my favorites and I want them out front, of course.

I have 2 sets of ornaments that I bought for Oldest when she was a baby. Rudolph and Mickey’s Christmas Carol. I always hung them at the bottom  so she could play with them, but to my surprise, she was a good baby when it came to the tree. Last year, Little L loved the sets so much, they were lying on the coffee table by the tree more then on it. After Christmas, I took out all the hooks out and let her play with them. I went on a search last week and found almost all of them. Baby Rudolph is missing, and I have 2 that are broke. Hubby is going to superglue the 2 back together and hopefully I will come across baby Rudolph before Christmas eve. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

