Another Broken Phone

Posted: November 28, 2015 in blog, Christmas, Daughter, kids, parenting, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Oldest came to me about an hour ago saying that her phone wasn’t working. Let me rephrase that, to tell me that her phone had a crack in the screen and she couldn’t get it to work. This makes the 3rd phone that she has busted in the past 5 years. She is always carrying this phone around. She has it in her hands constantly, even when she is doing her chores around the house. We are always telling her that she needs to lay it down, and stop taking it outside when she and Little L goes out to play.

I was wanting to get her a new phone for Christmas. I even hinted to her about it, but she said that she liked her phone and didn’t want another. Even after it malfunctioned about 3 months ago, and overheated. She couldn’t get it to shut off. We eventually got it apart, but the battery in this phone is behind a separate case that takes a screwdriver and Macgyver to figure out how to get to it. Luckily, it began to cool down. After that, I wouldn’t let Oldest keep it on at night. I didn’t want it to over heat while we were asleep and start a fire. Then the battery started losing its charge fairly quickly. She deleted all her apps and turned off anything that she didn’t use or need but it didn’t work. Now it seems like if your parent was mentioning a new phone and Christmas right around the corner, you would be jumping for joy and saying yes, but not her.

Are we going to get her a new phone for Christmas? No. Her dad won’t let me. He is pretty upset with her and now he is upset with me because I am letting her use my old phone. She can’t receive texts or calls but she can run on Wifi all day long around here. I did tell her that she can’t take it outside with her, it has to stay in the house. She is fine with that. It runs a little slow, that is why I got rid of it just this time last year, but it will work for now and let her dad chill out about it and I know he will. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments
  1. April says:

    Every preteen and teen I know tears up phones like an old pair of shoes. Par for the course I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

