Random silliness with a tween

Posted: November 18, 2015 in blog, family, funny, kids, parenting, ramblings, tweens
Tags: ,

You know how to wake up a 12 year old girl? Turn on One Direction! They were on Good Morning America today, and I, myself do not watch the show, but my mom does. I heard her say they were going to sing, so I shot through the house to wake her. I opened the door and there she was still fast asleep at 8:45 a.m. I grabbed her remote and turned it to channel 15 and cranked the volume. I watched as she was opening her eyes and giving me this look as to say “Mom” but then she heard one of them sing, she turned her attention to the screen. “You better get your glasses on,” I said as she struggled to get up before the song was over. I left her sitting with a smile from ear to ear on her face.

Later this morning, Oldest was talking to a friend she had made online. The girl lives in Florida and was saying that her mom wasn’t doing anything for Thanksgiving because it wasn’t “on plan.” I asked what she meant and apparently the mom is pretty strict on what her family eats and how much. I told Oldest to tell her friend, we had pie and turkey to come on out, I would feed her.  Oldest knew I was joking. A few minutes passed and she looked at her dad and me and asked, “Is turkey meat?” Now I really did not know where she was going with this question and we both busted out laughing. She asked again, not understanding why we were laughing. We said “Yes, it is meat.” She then said, “Oh well, G is a Vegetarian.”  I just looked at her and said, “Then what is she worried about?” Oldest laughed and said “yea, really.”  She did tell her friend what I said about  jumping on a plane and come on out. She said I was awesome. Awww, made me feel good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

