Charlie the Ghost

Posted: October 31, 2015 in blog, family, ghost stories, Halloween, kids, paranormal activity, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

hauntedhouse

For some time now, any noise or weirdness that may happen in our house, my hubby will say that it is just the ghost. Charlie the ghost, that is. He does this to spook Oldest and sometimes he gets me too. Our house isn’t very old and no one died in it, (well not the house part), but there are some weird noises and sounds at times. I don’t know how he came up with the name Charlie. Sometimes, L will point up to the corner of the room. This will make Oldest cringe. She will ask L if she sees Charlie and L will nod her head yes every time. We have even went so far as to tell Oldest that Charlie hangs out in her room. He stands in the corner and watches her sleep. I know, super creepy and we shouldn’t do it. She hates it when we say this, but it is all in fun. In my mom’s room, the light has been known to turn on by itself. We say Charlie is playing tricks again. In my bathroom, I have one light that likes to flicker at times when you first turn it on. “Oh Charlie, would you knock it off,” I say outloud. The the light will straighten itself out.

Several months ago, Oldest had her friend over and they love watching scary vidoes. We were outside early the next morning, trying to let L play before the sun took our shady area. Her friend wanted to play Ghost Hunters. He was talking about something on the show and Charlie popped into my head. “So, you’ve seen Charlie then?” He had a funny look on her face, so I went with it.  “Charlie, the ghost that stays in her room.” I said pointing to Oldest. “He stands in the corner and watches you guys while you sleep.” Oldest was looking up at me with a big grin on her face, thinking that this was going to spook her poor little friend. He thought about it for a few seconds, then shook his head yes. “I have seen him.” He said kinda low, looking down. Then he walked away. He never said another word and the Ghost Hunter game went right out the window.

When I was about Oldests age, I had a cat named Puff. On the weekends, I would hear my door crack open just a smidge and he would jump up on the bed, and snuggle down beside my leg. Even if I was needing to get up, I would let him stay for abit, listening to him purr. Unfortunately, Puff got sick and passed on. The first weekend he was gone, I swear to this day he visited me one last time. I was half awake when I felt something jump onto the bed and lay down beside my leg like he always did. At first in my groggy state, I thought it was him, them I realized it couldn’t be. Then I thought that maybe it was another one of our cats wondering around looking for a place to cuddle. I laid there awhile longer, then decided to see which one it was. I reached down before looking and there was nothing there. The feeling of a cat laying beside my leg was gone also.

Now back to what I said about no one dying in the house. Apparently the very first owner of this property built the garage. He was a machinist that liked to build guns. The story is that he wanted our neighbor to come by one day, he wanted to talk with him. He didn’t get the chance right away and several days later, the guy killed himself in the garage. Our garage. When hubby told me this, I was speechless. I felt so sorry for this man.

And no, his name was not Charlie.

Thanks for reading and Happy Halloween to all!

Leave a Reply

