Costumes of Halloween’s Past

Posted: October 28, 2015 in blog, girls, Halloween, kids, toddlers, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

I can remember every Halloween costume Oldest has worn over the years. At 2 she had a Cinderella dress. She didn’t go out Trick or Treating back then, I really didn’t see the point. The next year, she was a cute little witch all in black and bright green trim. She had more fun giving out candy this year. Then at 4 she was a ballerina, and the first time she got to actually go to houses. When she was 5, she had no clue what to go as and we had just moved to Washington and didn’t have alot of money at that time. We went into a Salvation Army with a friend and she spied a black/leopard print dress in her size. She wanted it so bad, and I remember that it was like $2. We also loved going to the dollar store and they had these masks that came with all the pieces you just had to glue it together, in the Halloween section. We found a cat mask and she went as a kitty that year.

tracycat

My little Kitty. Meow

At age 6, she went as a Pirate, minus the eye patch. The next year, her cousin invited her to go with them and he was going to be a ninja. When we went looking for her a costume, she found a female ninja outfit. We called them to make sure that it was ok with them that she also went as a ninja. Her cousin could be a bit on the selfish side, but they said it was cool with them.

Tracyninja

Just chillin!

When she turned 8, she went as a dark princess, angel thing. I am not really sure what it was, but she liked it. At 9 she went as a Monster High character, Lagoona Blue. 10, she was a witch again, and last year at age 11, a Zombie.

For Halloween this year, Oldest has decided to be a Robber. I don’t know how or even why she came up with this, but ok, I will go with it. We found all the parts and pieces except for the right mask. I bought her one but after she got home, she said it didn’t fit right since she has to wear glasses to see any thing! I told her not to worry about a mask or maybe she could take some of her make up from last year and make her a mask. She didn’t like my ideas, of course. When we went up to Walmart last week, we walked through the Halloween section to see what I could get to go with Little L’s costume. She found a fox mask and fell in love with it. I did find the tail, but I figured she would just spend the evening pulling it off. While I was looking, Oldest found a mask that totally spooked the hell out of me. It reminded me so much of the movie “The Strangers“.  That movie is very creepy and scary in my book, I think because it seemed so real. It could happen, and I hate movies like that. She decided that she had to have that mask. I asked her if she was changing her costume this late in the game and she said no, she would just wear that for the mask. We got home and she put it on, Little L did not like the mask at all. I repeat, DID NOT LIKE THE MASK! She cried until Oldest put it in her room. She has tried to wear it a couple of times, but L just won’t have anything to do with it. I told her when we go out, she will just have to either wear the original mask we got or no mask. Then once we bring L back home, she can wear the creepy mask for the rest of the time.

tracycreepymask

CREEPY!!!

I have pictures of every one of the costumes, since I am a picture fanatic and scrapbooker, but not on this computer. But I have to say. I still have each and every one of her costumes, packed away. Maybe Little L will like to wear one one day! 🙂

Leahbabywitch

Two Halloween’s ago. Little L trying on the witch outfit that Oldest wore when she was 3.

Leave a Reply

