My Baby Turned 12 – Part 1 The Cake

Posted: October 27, 2015 in birthday, blog, Daughter, family, kids, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Well today was the day. My Oldest, once my little girl, once my only, turned 12. Yep, she has gone and done it. Even though I have threatened and begged please don’t get any older, it happened.

About 2 weeks ago, I asked her what she wanted for her cake this year. Last year we ordered it from Walmart, so this year she wanted me to make her one. On one of our trips to the store, she picked out the cake mix and icing. It was a tye dye cake mix and vanilla icing. I didn’t look at the instructions till 2 days ago. There was alot too it, but seemed simple enough. You just had to divide out the batter and use the included food coloring packets to make your colors. She decided on a 2 layer cake and she wanted to help me make it. We started on it around 12:30 today. After I got the batter made up and divided I opened up the 3 coloring packets. Now this was a messy part. The food coloring got all over my fingers because the packets weren’t but an inch or 2 big. There was not enough in them to do all the colors. Luckily I still had my food coloring kit from Little L’s birthday. We got all the colors made and started putting them in the pan. 30 minutes later, it was done. Simple, right? Wrong! I let them cool for about 2 hours. Oldest was driving me crazy wanting to icing them. I got out the icing and started mixing up the colors since we had a colorful cake, why not some colorful icing. I went to get the first cake out of the pan to set on the plate. It wouldn’t come out. It had stuck to the pan so bad. I was about to cry. Oldest was trying to help and getting mad at me because I was getting upset. She didn’t understand that since I was making it for her, that I wanted it to be pretty much perfect. I felt like I had never made a cake before.

After some work, we got the first layer out of the pan, but alot still stuck. I started to put the icing on it and oldest decided to work on the second layer. It broke in half and some of it still stuck in the pan. I told her to leave it alone while I finished up the first layer. I didn’t want it to break any more. I got it placed on top and smooshed it together and prayed that the icing would hold it. That’s when oldest said she wanted to do the icing. I walked away to do some other things, and when I went back, the cake, well, it didn’t look at all like I wanted it to. She got bored and went into her room, so I mixed up some more icing and went to work on it. As the icing got mixed together though, it was turning purple. You could still see some of the other colors, but purple was the main one. Could this cake get any uglier? I thought. When I got done, I pushed it aside, and hoped that it tasted better then it looked. Thankfully it did. ๐Ÿ™‚

20151027_182457

 

Comments
  1. Happy Happy Birthday to mom and her oldest. Cool cake idea.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rachell says:

    Happy birthday! Cake looks pretty awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OneBusyMama says:

    I think it looks good! Plus, it will be ever more special to her because she helped make it!!! Good job mom!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. […] order of 10.00 or more. So I sat up late going through all the pictures from the Boo Fest and the Birthday and Trick or Treating to have developed. Got 57 pics for done for only 6 bucks. Good deal I would […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

