Another Trip to the Doctor

Posted: October 15, 2015 in blog, parenting, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Little L has been complaining of her tummy hurting off and on for awhile now. It hasn’t been consistent and so we haven’t been too concerned over it. She stopped for a couple of weeks, but then the other day started back up. Hubby jumped all over me saying she needed a check up. “Isn’t it time to take her to the doctor”? I told him she went at 2 and she went when she was sick, but no she doesn’t need a check up. Then after he yelled, yes yelled, at me I told him I would get her a doctor’s appointment. My husband can be pretty paranoid and he thought that maybe L had swallowed a toy. I didn’t think so, but hey who knows. She does still put stuff in her mouth.

I got the appointment for this morning at 9:30. The office had moved so I got the new address and had to google it to see where it was. I am not familiar with the new area, so that is always fun, right? We left on time, and got down there with little to no traffic. THEN the fun began. I pulled into the parking lot and starting looking for building E. I drove down the parking lot and finally came upon a big building with an E on the side but the number said 150. I was told it was suite 105. I drove around thinking it was on the other side. It wasn’t. I turned around and drove back through, still no 105. I got back to the starting point and called. The lady on the phone started saying did you go South on such and such. South. How do you know where I was coming from? I thought. I said yes then she started in on we are on the south west corner facing blah blah blah, she lost me. I told her that I wasn’t seeing what she was describing. I was about to just give up and go home, then she told me she would walk outside and look for me. I told her I had to get turned around. I pulled out of the parking lot and started to go in the next entrance, when I seen the big E on the side of the correct building. She was standing outside the door and I waved at her and yelled thank you. She waved back and we parked.

Once inside we only had to sit for about 5 minutes. The waiting area in this new building was much smaller then the other one. Right after the girls started going to the old office, they had it painted with really nice animal jungle pictures. This place had nothing. Heck, it hardly had any wall space to hang a pic, much less, paint one. L gave us problems once we were called back. She wouldn’t get on the scale and started crying and holding on to sissy. I had to pull her off and pick her up and put her on the newborn scale. After that, she walked to the room just fine and let the nurse check her temp and height with no problem. While waiting for the doctor to come in, she wanted out of the room. There wasn’t much in it to look at, so we had to come up with stuff to keep her calm. Once the doc made her way in, she went into crying mode again, trying to hide. The doctor let her set on my lap instead of getting on the table. She finally let her listen to her heart and check everything. We had been battling a head cold that somehow I picked up and was pretty miserable over the weekend. I told the doc that she had a fever off and on for a few days. She asked about the tummy issues and I told her all I knew and she said that if she had swallowed a toy or anything and hadn’t passed it by now, the pain would be far worse then her just saying her tummy hurt off and on. She said that it was probably constipation and wanted me to get her an X-ray just to rule out anything else. Off we went to the X-ray place, which was on a totally different street, but pretty easy to find, since I had to take Oldest there once before for her back.

L did great in the X-ray room. The technician was pretty wonderful with her, I have to say. L laid very still while they snapped a pic and she told her that she was her best patient so far for the day. She gave L a fairy sticker and L even let her pick her up off the table. I told the tech that she must like her since she let her pick her up. Very proud mommy moment there.

We made it home and a few hours later, the doctor called and said that it was a mild case of constipation to up the fiber and water intake, cut back on milk for awhile and if that didn’t work, that I could use a baby laxative, called ? (For the life of me, I can’t remember what it was called. Oh well, I am sure I will sooner or later.) I am just happy that it wasn’t a toy lodge somewhere in her little tummy.  🙂

 

Comments
  1. OneBusyMama says:

    All that for constipation. Yikes! At least it was nothing bad!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

