Cleaning out the Garage

Posted: October 8, 2015 in blog, husbands, toddlers, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Oldest is on Fall Break from school this week. Well, Wednesday thru Sunday. Instead of going somewhere really cool and fun and exciting, I chose to take this time to get my side of the garage cleaned out. It isn’t all my side, hubby has alot of stuff stacked in there too, but the majority, he will tell you, is mine. I have crate upon crates of stuff I have lugged around for years. The last time we purged was when we were getting ready to leave Washington to move back to Nevada. I got rid of a ton of toys and stuff we just didn’t use anymore. Now it is time to go through the crates that we did keep and say, “Do we really need to hold on to this any longer?” I went out yesterday, the day was bright and sunny but there was a cool breeze blowing and the temp was in the 70’s. Good time to start. After opening 3 toy crates, I started to cringe. Cringe at all the clutter and mess and mismatched crap that we have lugged around and stored for the past 5 years. Oldest ended up going through 2 of them with me yesterday evening and we got a lot thrown out and a lot up in the donation crate. So 2 crates became one. Yeah! Throughout the afternoon I emptied atleast 5 crates.

Then today I took the girls with me to Walmart to pick up a few things. My plan was when I got back home, I was going to tackle the garage some more. Wrong. Oldest decided her closet needed cleaned out. But instead of pulling everything out and starting with an empty room, she started going through a crate of stuff that she had boxed up. Then she started showing and handing stuff to the 2 year old. You know where I am going with this. Pretty soon the room was more of a disaster then it started out and Oldest got mad because now she was overwhelmed by the whole thing. Instead of asking me to help or say, “hey mom, could you just go ahead and clean my closet out for me,” she stomped through the house, then got into a fight with her sister. I gave in and took it upon myself to clean it. An hour and half later I emerged, hungry and mad. Mad because they, (hubby and daughter), were both sitting on the couch, feet up,  watching The Walking Dead on Netflix. Little L was running all over, destroying everything in her path. The living room and kitchen were both lined with toys. I wanted to scream, but no, I went on and made dinner and kept my mouth shut. I knew if I opened it, it was not going to be good.

Tomorrow I am back outside to finish, *fingers crossed* what I started Wednesday. Hopefully, all that will be left on Saturday morning is a trip to the donation center. 🙂

 

Comments
  1. […] donation center last Saturday morning, to finally get rid off all the stuff I cleaned out of the garage.  I was definitely off schedule and my hubby was not happy with me about dragging my feet going, […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

