Don’t Give Up

Posted: September 21, 2015 in blog, crafts, Daughter, Halloween, tween, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Oldest gives up way too easy and I don’t know how to get her to stay with something. She has always done this, so it is not new, but it gets very old and frustrating. The other day she picked up 2 small Christmas cross stitch crafts from Michael’s. She asked if we could get started on one this evening. I love cross stitch. It has been ages since I did them, but they were always lots of fun for me. We opened the kit and I read the instructions to refresh my memory and I started it off for her, trying to show her step by step what to do. I gave it to her and she immediately knotted up the thread. I had to fix it. Then the thread came out and she got mad. I told her to just start over. Count 6 from the right and 2 up. She did, but said she couldn’t get it going. I took it back and proceeded to get her started again. The thread was so light and the lighting in the kitchen was not helping. I told her that we can look at it better tomorrow in the daylight. I stressed over and over that it takes a few to get used to, but once you do, you will be hooked. I know I was at one time. She sat beside me looking at her phone, acting like she wasn’t interested in it at all. I am not going to do it for you, I told her. Because that is what she always says, she asks for help then I take over and do it for her. I want her to enjoy it and have fun. I know it sure passed the time for me on boring afternoons.

I have been busy working on some fall and Halloween crafts and came across a cute paper tutorial last night on how to make leaves. Since all we have are palm trees in the yard, I thought it would be nice to make a few for decoration. We started working on it and she couldn’t get the hang of it. It took me like 3 tries to finally figure out what the lady was talking about, since she only put in pictures no words. When I caught on, I tried to show her. She would do it backwards everytime. Then get mad. I told her don’t get mad, just keep trying. That is the way you learn. Her thing is if she doesn’t get it the first time, she just walks away from it. My thing is, I have to know how to do it. If I start it, I want to finish it. I sure hope one day she will feel the same way. 🙂

 

Comments
  1. OneBusyMama says:

    I get it. Sadly….I was more like your daughter, BUT only on things that didn’t interest me as much. It’s hard. Maybe since she bought them have her try and practice for a few minutes every day. I will keep her trying and maybe once she gets it…she will be hooked as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

