Home Made Playdough

Posted: August 17, 2015 in blog, cooking, crafts, family, kids, toddlers, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Mondays

Have you ever felt like this on a Monday afternoon? What am I going to do to get through this day with 2 somewhat bored kids? Actually that could go for any day of the week. Here in Arizona, it is still too hot to go to the park, so to get over the Monday blues, the girls and I decided to make home made playdough. Oldest and I had been wanting to do this for awhile, but I kept forgetting to buy some of the ingredients. So yesterday when we went to the store I finally remembered to get the stuff.

I followed a tutorial on YouTube. There are hundreds of tutorials for this stuff and it is so much like salt dough plus one ingredient, vegetable oil. Some recipes called for cream of tartar, but I didn’t want to have to cook anything, so we chose the one that was easiest. You can watch the video here. Like I said, pretty simple, and the kids had a ton of fun.

20150817_144452

20150817_144456

20150817_151921

20150817_145143

We played for about an hour and a half. L loved it, she kept saying squishy as it oozed through her fingers. We also had her practice her colors with it too. Next time, we are going to take the food coloring and mix the colors so we can make orange and purple. When we were done, we sealed each color in its own ziplock bag and placed it in the fridge for more fun later.  It is also good for the older kids. Oldest help me make it, and I had her measure out the flour and salt. Although I think she got a little confused on what a full cup is, we got through it. Sometimes, I really worry about her.   Hope you enjoy!  🙂

 

 

 

Comments
  1. oceanoffear says:

    That looks so fun! I might even try it myself

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather Keet says:

    I am a pro at making playdough. after 12+ years in daycare, I have learned how to save money and make it myself. Great job, I love the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

