I Am Thankful

Posted: July 30, 2015 in blog, kids, parenting, ramblings, toddlers
Tags: , ,

I haven’t written anything in a few days. Little L came down with the same bug that Oldest had, on Tuesday night. I felt something was wrong when she wouldn’t touch her dinner. She always has milk before bed and she did not even ask for any. I got her some any ways and she only took a few drinks. Then when she got into bed, I could here her breathing. Her nose was stopping up. With Oldest, it started in her tummy and throat, then moved to a very bad stuffy nose. We took L’s temp and it was kinda high, so I had to break out the medicine. She slept like crap and so we slept like crap and she was wide awake at 3:30 a.m. Since she didn’t eat dinner, she said she was hungry. I made her some instant oatmeal and she ate almost the whole bowl. I went back to bed around 5. She was sitting on the couch watching cartoons and daddy was with her. About 20 minutes later, as I was just dozing off, they came into the bedroom. He was helping her up onto the bed when I heard what no one wants to here at 5:20 in the morning. “She just puked on the bed.” I was wide awake then. He took her into the bathroom, and she didn’t quite make it to the toilet. He cleaned the floor up and the bed while I cleaned her up. Then we had to strip the bed because it soaked all the way through. Yeah. Just keeps getting better.
We got her to lie down about an hour later and she went back to sleep for awhile.

Needless to say, Wednesday and Thursday was not the greatest of days. But I told myself not to complain. Sure, no one likes to get sick, no one likes to feel miserable and have to take medicine that doesn’t seem to help. It’s especially worse when it’s a baby or young child. But, things could be far more worse. I see and read so much on the news and Facebook that most of the time I don’t even know why I read the stories. Sometimes I look at the headlines and say nope, can’t read it, and go on.

So instead of complaining about how life stinks cause I have missed a few hours of sleep, I am going to say what I am thankful for right now:
1. I am thankful for 2 great kids and a pretty terrific hubby.
2. I am thankful for having the money to buy my kids medicine when they get sick.
3. I am thankful that they have health insurance, if they have to go to the doctor.
4. I am thankful that what is wrong with them will subside in a couple of days. Oldest is already on the mend, even though she has laryngitis at the moment.
5. I am also thankful for a hubby that can clean up puke without gagging.

It may be a bit stressful at the moment, but doesn’t compare with what some people have to go through on a daily basis. 🙂

Comments
  1. oceanoffear says:

    Sounds like a rough few days. Hope she feels much better soon! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope your family feels better. Also hope your family appreciates you.
    Shine On

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

