Need Some Vitamin D

Posted: July 27, 2015 in blog, kids, parenting, tween girls, tweens, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Oldest is driving me crazy. When we went to her doctors appointment last Tuesday, they said her vitamin D level was still low. I told the doctor that she can’t swallow the pills that were prescribed and could she change it to a liquid if it was available. Sure, she called in the prescription before we left. She also said that she didn’t want to put Oldest on medication for pre diabetes at this time, since she couldn’t swallow pills. Apparently the medication is a horse pill that I would have to hold her down and shove down her throat. The doctor told her diet and exercise and try to lose weight. She was actually down 1/2 a pound from the last appointment. Which she should have been more, because the scales at home show more. Since she showed she could lose weight, the doc said to keep trying. We have another appointment in September which should have been October. She told the girl 3 months, and I didn’t realize it till we got home that she did 2 months instead.

But back to why she is driving me crazy. It took the pharmacy 3 days to get the liquid Vitamin D in. Oldest was at the sleepover when I went to pick it up. Since she was sick and doing the throw up thing, she wasn’t able to take any until tonight.  She has to take 5 ml of it once a day. At first she said it tasted pretty good, then it like started burning her tongue and she gagged the rest down. OMG this girl. She yelled and said it was nasty and she wasn’t taking anymore of it and I couldn’t make her. I told her that she needed to learn to swallow a damn pill then. She yelled some more and I yelled louder and she left the room. It says on the box that I can mix it with formula, food or juice. Mind you it is for babies and toddlers. So it can’t taste that hideous. Tomorrow I am going to put it in a some milk and make her drink it. OR I am gonna make her go out into the sun and stand for an hour a day. I know she will want to take it then, because standing in 110 degree heat is not fun at all. 😉

Leave a Reply

