Another Doctor’s Appointment

Posted: July 9, 2015 in blog, Daughter, kids, parenting, tween, tween girls, tweens
Tags: , ,

I took Oldest to get her blood work done on the 26th of June. I was expecting a call from the endocrinologist around the following Monday or Tuesday. Nothing. With all the family stuff at the end of the week,  I didn’t get to call them until this past Monday. At first I had to leave a message for them to call me back. About 2 hours later the receptionist called and said the doctor didn’t want to give me the results over the phone and wanted me to bring Oldest in. “Ok when”?  I asked, thinking the next day. “Well, she said to “squeeze” you in on the 21st.” “The 21st, that is 2 weeks away. And you can’t tell me whether the tests were good or bad?” I asked. She said no the doctor didn’t give her the information.  So I accepted the appointment and hung up. Another hour went by and the nurse called. She had the results and told me that her levels were still elevated, and her Vitamin D level was still low. I actually couldn’t believe it. She has been cutting out the extra sugar and has been drinking more milk. Even started taking vitamins again. The nurse, who was very nice, said to eat healthy and exercise. That is one thing Oldest does not do is exercise. Also, they sent a prescription of more vitamin d pills to my pharmacy which is silly cause my insurance doesn’t cover the cost. Plus, last ones she took hurt her stomach every day she took them. I told the nurse this and she seemed surprised that they bothered her. I asked if I could just buy some over the counter and she said yes, but get atleast 2000 iu. Then she said after she is on them for atleast 6 weeks she will have to get her blood work done again but the doctor will tell me about that when we come in for the appointment.  So today I receive in the mail the lab request sheet for them to check her viatamin d. She hasn’t been on the pills a week yet and already sending me this. They are really confusing and I wish that we could change doctors. All they talked about in the first appointment was for her to lose weight.

On a brighter note, she went in for her Scoliosis check up and it was good. No signs of change and her curvature is at 20%. The doctor said come back in in October and if it hasn’t changed he will move her appointments to every 6 months. 🙂

Leave a Reply

