Learning Videos for Toddlers

Posted: July 8, 2015 in blog, parenting, toddlers
Tags: , , ,

Little L has been on a Youtube watching spree. No, she isn’t watching Taylor Swift or Megan Trainor. She has fallen in love with all the learning kid videos. We happened upon them by accident one night, after she watched an episode of Blaze. It went into a show all about colors. She got so involved that she was saying all the colors with the voice on the show. The next day she wanted more. We found Simple  Silly Songs and it is nursery rhymes and/or learning songs all animated. One day she came across the Mother Goose Club. It has kids dressed in costumes and they do mostly nursery rhymes. Alot of repeats on this one though.  Now she likes videos by Kids TV. The animations are pretty good, bright colors and they go back and forth between learning and nursery rhymes. Their are a couple that get on my nerves that she will tell me to turn on and after a little bit I have to turn them right back off.

I was thinking this evening as we were watching one of the videos how many different versions there are of Five Little Monkeys. I have seen of course the traditional one, then there are Five Little Frogs, Five Little Pigs, Five Little Ducks, Five Little Penguins, Five Little Snowmen, Five Little babies,  and Five Little Fruits. I am sure I am missing a few. But the one that actually made me laugh, was called Five Old Grannies. And yes, they were all jumping on a bed. They would fall off one by one, and the baby had to call the doctor. My husband and I always say the same thing when the doctor says to put the monkeys, or babies, or even old grannies back to bed, that they could have a concussion and should wait atleast an hour. Come on Doc!

Little L makes a face when they fall off, and if they get a bump on the top of their heads, she says they have a boo boo and gets sad over the whole thing. I tell her that is why mama and dadda doesn’t want her running around on the bed, which she loves so much and scares the hell out of me, and is going to make my hair go gray for sure.

I used to be a somewhat cool person, atleast in my head. Now I walk around singing Itsy Bitsy Spider and Wheels on the Bus all day long. You have to admit, those tunes can be catchy! 🙂

Comments
  1. jimgormanjr says:

    Both my kids have their shows they watch on our iPhones or tablets. it is kind of fun to see the difference between what a 10 year old watches versus a 4 year old

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kleighann says:

    Internet is sn awesome early learning device. For learning ABCs to early reading, I recommend starfall(dot)com. I loved it and my niece loved it. Id like to think our time together on there is a factor in how great of a student she is now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

