What are the Odds?

Posted: June 6, 2015 in blog, funny, humor
Tags:

Oldest has only a few chores around the house that we constantly have to remind her to do. One is to take out the recycle and trash cans. The second, make sure the dog has fresh water outside, which we both fail at miserably, (I forget to remind her most days) but he stays inside more now since it is so hot. Third, get the mail. Not too bad of a list. So Thursday afternoon, her dad got onto her about the dog’s water again. She was eating lunch, so when she finished she was going to fill his bowl. I then told her to go ahead and check the mailbox.

  Her dad needed me to come outside to show me something. I asked Oldest to keep an eye on her sister and went on out. While we were talking, I decided to go ahead and get the mail myself. Now the mail box is kind of catty corner to the house. It’s a good little distance too. When I got to the box, I heard a noise, sounded as if someone threw a rock. Then another hit the mailbox.  “Well Hell!! It’s starting to hail.” I said outloud. After a little snicker to myself over the funny I just made, (yes, I  know I’m a nerd), I began to walk at a brisk pace towards the house. My brisk pace wasn’t brisk enough because I was getting majorly pelted with these hard ass little ice pellets. And WTF? It’s the desert for crying out loud. Where did this freak hail storm come from? I made it into the yard and I see hubby coming out of the garage with an umbrella. A little late, but it is the thought that counts! I got to the steps the same time he did and by now I was laughing and screaming, “Let me in the house!!”

By the time I got in, the hail was letting up and it started pouring the rain.  We all had a good laugh at my expense, but it was pretty funny. I mean what are the odds?

Next time, I am definitely sending Oldest! 😉

Leave a Reply

