Sea Monkeys

Posted: May 31, 2015 in blog, funny, kids, parenting, tween
Tags: ,

Oldest talked me into letting her get sea monkeys again about 2 months ago. I say again, because she got some when she was around 7 and I was the one that fed them. Well, until the food ran out and eventually they all went to sea monkey heaven. So I let her get another package and told her that SHE has to take care of them. Everything started out good. She followed the directions and soon there were a couple of babies swimming around. They got bigger and more babies were hatching. Then one of the adult ones died. Don’t know why, but he turned black and was at the bottom of the tank. But that didn’t affect the rest. She had around 10 at one time happily swimming around day in and day out. I believe it was a Sunday, I reminded Oldest that they needed fed soon. She got the food out and measured and poured and sat them back in there spot on the windowsill in the kitchen.

The next day, I noticed that there were no swimmers. I seen some  floating near the bottom. Uh Oh! WTH happened? Are they asleep? Crap I think they are dead. Oldest was really bummed. She walked around saying she killed them. We watched for a day or two. Then we seen 1 swimming around. “We have life!” I yelled. It seemed to be doing ok, then a few more days, there was another one. Yes! Oldest was happy again.

Now we have 5 swimming around. 2 adults one teen and 2 babies. This morning Oldest is looking at them and says, “Those 2 are hooked together. Looks like they are giving each other piggy back rides.” I almost choked when she said that. I had to laugh. She looked at me like what did I say? I looked into the tank and yes there were 2 hooked together. I agreed with her about the piggy back ride. Now I don’t know how sea monkey’s have relations, but I guess they’ll be more little ones soon. 🙂

Comments
  1. kleighann says:

    Aw, you didn’t take the golden opportunity to explain the birds and the… uh, sea monkeys lol! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

