This Too Shall Pass

Posted: May 15, 2015 in blog, funny, kids, parenting, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

I really hope this phase in Little L’s life will soon pass. It is so hard to take her anyplace. She gets so excited about going, I can hardly get her dressed. We get in the car and she does ok for the ride. When we get to the store, she will be great for the first few minutes. Trickery I tells ya. Then she will go crazy and take off running, laughing all the way.

We managed to take Little L to the Library with us the other day. It was her first time actually stepping her little feet inside. I haven’t taken her since she is such a handful.  But that day, daddy decided that they would ride along with Oldest and I. There was only one other little girl in the tot play area, and she left soon after we got there. She was a little older then L and her mom was following her around with a Starbucks drink in her hand. All I could think of was Hey you aren’t allowed to bring drinks in the Library, Lady. When they left, L had the run of the place, which was cool. She checked out all the seats. Climbing up into everyone and seeing if they were comfy. She played with blocks and looked at books. Oldest, after she found what she was looking for, came over and crawled around on the floor with her. They checked out all the neat things together. When it was time to leave, L ran off into the older kids section and was trying to check out all the seats there. Luckily daddy scooped her right up before she made a mad dash to another area. She didn’t cry or make a fuss either. Which was truly a surprise.

Then…

I had to go get diapers yesterday, and hubby wasn’t too thrilled about going, but my van is still acting stupid so I wanted him to drive us to the store. In his truck. Which is lifted and huge and although I have driven a truck most of my adult life, this one is really hard to park. So he is mad cause he doesn’t want to go and I know part of it is because the van isn’t running right. We get there and I jump out to grab a cart and he is holding L. She sees the cart and immediately goes nuts, not wanting to get in. We fight with her, wrestle with her, I try to get her feet in the little holes, lost a shoe in the process, but it was no use. You win kid. But did she. Back in the truck she went and daddy stayed with her. She also started acting like a nut in the Circle K store. I ended up not getting any drinks, just scooped her up with all my might and took her back outside.

Oldest didn’t act like this at all, so I am a little dumbfounded by it. She would hide in the clothes racks when we would go shopping, but she would always come to me and get in the stroller. She would fuss, but never would she flop around on the dirty floor acting like a fish without water, when I would try and pick her up.

I am hoping by not letting her get her way by not taking her in the store or taking her out of the store will sink in and this part of the terrible 2’s soon gets the hell over with. I don’t like it one bit! I see other little kids younger and older then she staying with mom and/or dad. Not acting like a wild wolf child that has never been in public before in their little life.

 

 

Comments
  1. Charlie says:

    I never take the boy anywhere. He’s 3 and still is a flight risk. I always thought the girls (who are 9 and 11) weren’t like that, but I think I have selective memory…meaning, they sucked taking them places just as much as he does. This poor boy never gets to go anywhere. I’m totally with you on this. This stage of parenting sucks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sure it’s just a phase. Mine go in and out of phases too. There was a time that I dreaded taking them anywhere. Hang in there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember those days. When my son was two, and I was divorced, my ex lost my son a few minutes during a Target visit. It freaked both of them out so bad that my son after that incident, wouldn’t leave my side any place we went.
    Shine On

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Blunderdad says:

    My first daughter was a breeze. She was a rule follower. My second, not so much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

