The Mom Shirt

Posted: April 25, 2015 in blog, Daughter, funny, kids, tweens
Tags: ,

Monday morning, getting ready to head out to the testing site for Oldest, I picked out one of my best “mom” shirts to wear. I was wanting to make a good impression on the first day and not look like too much of a slouch. So I pick out this shirt that I have had for a couple of years now, it’s red, with a white inlay and a design going around it. It’s not anything fancy, but it has held up pretty well. I have a few shirts that I call my “mom” shirts. The style isn’t old, but it isn’t young either.  When I wear them, I definitely feel like a mom. OK enough of that. Oldest put on her black Batman t-shirt and black leggings. Which makes her look way thin and much older then her 11 year old self.

We stopped by the corner store to pick up a couple of water bottles. While standing in the Circle K…

Lady: “OH I like your shirt!” *Points to the neckline and does a little swirl with her finger*

At first I think she is talking to Oldest, but when I see her point, I think she is talking to me.

Me: “Oh thanks!” I said very enthusiastically.  “Wait…you were talking to her.” *I point to Oldest*

Lady: “Yeah, I was.” *Had a sorry your shirt is way too much of a mom shirt for me too like, look on her face.

I turned to Oldest and she smiled and said thanks.

I kept talking…for some reason

Me: “Well, I did pick it out for her.” “I have to have some credit.” *I am smiling like a complete idiot, trying to make a joke, and all I keep thinking is someone shut me up.

Lady: *Laughing* “Well, yea of course.”

She was probably thinking why did I even open my mouth, this poor woman has no friends. I just wanted out of there before any more embarrassing things popped out of my mouth.

We smiled and that was my chance to get away.

I don’t know which is worse, thinking that a young woman is complimenting you on your “style” or wearing blue to Walmart and everyone thinking you work there! 🙂

 

mom shirt

 

 

Comments
  1. Anxious Mom says:

    Sigh, Ryan 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] if you have read my previous post about the Mom Shirt, this post will make more sense. If you haven’t read, well…what are you waiting for?  […]

    Like

  3. OneBusyMama says:

    Ha ha. I’ve had similar encounters and they always end up embarrassing and awkward. I feel I can’t go wrong with jeans and a sweatshirt! It’s my go to. Pretty sure I own 20 sweatshirts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

