Spin Again

Posted: April 20, 2015 in blog, Daughter, family, funny, kids, tweens
Tags: , , ,

Saturday evening, Oldest and I got to go to a Spring Carnival. It was just down the street at one of the local churches. She was so excited to go. Me, not so much at first. Little L has been sick and I was going on just a few hours of sleep from Friday night. Once we got there, I have to say, there were too many rides that went up into the air for my taste. I definitely do not do heights. My feet need to be on the ground. We walked around trying to find a ride that Oldest could get me on. At the very back end, we found the Tilt A Whirl. Yes, now that is my kind of ride”, I told her. She looked at me, “Are you sure?” “Definitely…I think.” We walked closer to it,  and got in line. Oldest counted out the tickets we had bought. We got on and selected our car and climbed in. When it started up it was kinda slow, but then we got going and spun around a few times. I was screaming like a little kid who found a cookie! I forgot how much fun it was. Oldest didn’t scream, but she did bury her face down in my arm a few times. We laughed and she laughed some more at me when ever it spun around. Although, at one point our car wasn’t spinning at all like the car in front off us. I then started complaining,  saying our car was broken. Come on, I want to spin, dammit!! It had one big spin left in it before the ride ended.  We got off and followed everyone to the exit. “Can we go again?” Oldest asked.  Why not, I just spent a small fortune on ride tickets, I thought. We got back in line. This time we got a different car that had more spins in her then the first one. After it was over, we headed back to see what else we could find.

image

We came across one called the Gravitron. Looked like a huge spaceship,  and spun around really really fast. Oldest begged me to go on, but I balked. Part of me wanted to go, but the scared part of me said no way José!  “Can I go then?” “By yourself?” I asked. “Yes!” I finally broke and said ok. She handed me her glasses, gave the guy her tickets and went in. A few minutes later the door closed and off it went. Spinning and spinning. It was a 4 minute ride, that I taped on my phone. When the door opened, she was the first one out. She came up to me, and I asked her, “How was it?” She looked at me kinda shrugged her shoulders and I thought, oh wow, must have been boring. I then shut my recording off for her then to look me dead in the eyes and seriously ask, “Is my face sagging?” I cracked up. “No, your face is not sagging!” She was still really serious and wanted to know the truth.  The only thing I could think about was missing that part on my recording. Ugh!!!

image

After that, we walked around looked at some other rides, and then she got her some cotton candy. We decided to go on the Tilt A Whirl one more time then head home. This time it was a different guy running it and we got a car that spun around like a top. The guy let the ride go  longer then the last 2 times. Which was way cool, definitely getting my money’s worth on that one. We laughed and I screamed some more. I think even Oldest let out a little yell a time or two.

We had 2 tickets left and Oldest was trying hard for us not to leave. She counted the money I had left, which was enough to buy 6 tickets. With that and the 2 we had we could do one more ride. So we walked back through the crowd over to the ticket booth. Then all the way back over to the favorite ride of the night.  “Last time then home”, I told her. We did our last ride, I screamed less cause I was getting hoarse from it. We laughed and joked some more. Oldest put on her best poker face, trying not to enjoy the fun. It made me laugh. When we got home, I drank too much water too fast and was sick for a little bit. All that spinning got to me. Then we had to tell daddy all about it.

I’m happy we went. Oldest loved it and it was nice that there was something for us both too enjoy. She wanted to go back today, but darn, it was just too hot! Which is code for, Thank You Lord, I wasn’t ready to spin again!    😉

Comments
  1. OneBusyMama says:

    Just reading this makes me sick….I can’t do spinning! I’m more the rollercoaster a and Ferris wheel sort of gal. Glad you two had fun! I love mommy/kiddo bonding moments!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

