Adventures at the Library

Posted: February 22, 2015 in Daughter, family, kids, parenting, tween, tween girls, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

If you have been keeping up with my blog, I wrote a couple of weeks ago about oldest going to the library all by herself. Yesterday, she got to do another solo trip for a couple of hours while I ran a some errands for hubby. Before we went, she got the library card out of my wallet. Then she proceeded to tell me about the last time and how many times she checked for the library card in the purse she was carrying. She checked it before she left the car, once she got inside the building, while she was looking for her first book to look at, and a few more times. I thought this was hilarious. I was laughing so hard, tears were coming out!  She was so paranoid that she was going to loose it, probably because I kept telling her “don’t loose the card.”

While she was there, she told me about a couple of things that happened to her, so I just wanted to share her adventures with you.

She had a piece of hard candy, in her mouth. This little girl came up to her and asked, “What you have in your mouth?” Oldest responds, “A piece of candy.” “Can I have some?” the little girl asked, while holding out her hand way up at her mouth. Oldest thought she actually wanted the piece that was in her mouth, the way she was staring at her. She then told her, “this was my only piece, sorry.” She said the little girl put her hand down and walked away, looking pretty sad.

The other thing that happened, is that she was wearing her flip flops. She said she was walking down the aisle, in the kids section, and her shoe folded up underneath her toes and she face planted right onto the floor. She then said there were little kids on both sides of her and they were just looking at her like, “Oh good, the giant has fallen, let’s tie her up.” She told me this and I about choked on my water. No lie, I can’t make this stuff up.

When I picked her up, she only had a couple of things. I asked her why, she said she had some CD’s and DVD’s she wanted, but they came up error when she tried to check them out. So she just cancelled out and put them back. For some odd reason, she decided to check her account online at 8:30 last night. Everyone of them that came up error are showing up that she checked them out. UGH!! Why, oh why didn’t she think to look when we got home? Why didn’t I think to check it out? She told me that she cancelled it out and she didn’t think anything went through. I got a teensy tiny bit angry upset with her and yelled no screamed, no talked to her and told her from now on, she can go up there, but she has to wait for me to get there before she checks ANYTHING out! Here I am, trying to give her these responsibilities, and I have to remember that she is still a kid. She still needs my help. Even though she may not think so. Even though sometimes I don’t think so. She does. This makes me feel good. My tweeny bopper is still a little girl, my little girl. 🙂

Now I have to wait til Tuesday, so I can run up there and hopefully get it fixed without too much hassle.

 

 

Leave a Reply

