Doing What 20 Month Olds Do

Posted: February 16, 2015 in Babies, family, funny, kids, parenting, toddlers
Tags: , ,

Little L has really been pushing my buttons lately. She will be 20 months old this week. I guess she is doing what all 20 month olds are doing to their parents. Making them want to pull their hair out and pushing them to the edge of insanity. My little one is pretty good at it. She knows what she wants and when she wants it. If you don’t comply,  there is heck to pay, my friend. Heck. To. Pay.

She actually had me in tears the other night. I get her in the bath, she won’t sit down. She knows exactly what I am saying, she just keeps leaning over the side of the tub. She won’t play, she won’t sit, giving me a heck of a time while I wash her up. I am constantly saying sit down play with your toys. Oldest comes in and she is trying to get her to play, when little L leans one more time over the edge and out pops a not so wonderful surprise. Man, it just kept coming too. Oldest asks if she should get her out. I am literally screaming “YES” at her while trying to fish the floaters that have joined us, out of the water. Let me tell you, I am TIRED of this bath time routine she has gotten herself into.  I broke down and cried as I cleaned up the tub. “I just can’t win.” I kept saying, over and over. Oldest thinks I am insane in the membrane by now.

For Valentine’s, Oldest picked out 2 cute coloring books and a pack of crayons for her sis. L just loves them. It is so cute to watch her scribble on every page and then when she gets tired of that, she starts coloring on the coffee table. Big bold marks all over the light colored top. When I finally get her to stop, she takes off with the crayon and tries to put some beautiful artwork on the walls, before I can get to her. She is very quick, and has a grip on her that you wouldn’t believe. It takes 2 most of the time to get whatever she should not have out of her hands.

I always heard how the 2’s are the terrible years…what about the months before? Please don’t tell me it gets worse. I don’t think I can handle much more. 🙂

Comments
  1. Two was actually not terrible at all for D! Better, in some ways, because he could tell us more of what he wanted and didn’t want.

    (Good luck …)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Trista Souza says:

    Oh my fellow mommy how I truly have felt how you are feeling….and still feel some days. Poop in the bath tub is so not a fun thing…not only do you have to disinfect every inch of them and the tub but it’s just nothing but gross. Been there…done that. As for the crayons…not sure if you have tried the “washable” crayons by Crayola but they wipe right off any surface. I have wiped them off every surface of my house a time or 12. Doesn’t even take much elbow grease to get them off. And a fish net helps for the floaters :)) Keep up the good work and remember to reward yourself….with wine 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  3. KaboodleMum says:

    I know those feelings all too well. My walls are covered in my daughters ‘art’ luckily we managed to get her out of drawing on the walls pretty quickly but I would be lying if I said it got easier, it’s gets more difficult with the more attitude they acquire from somewhere and then before you know it, they’re in the naked stage (currently working on a post for that one!)
    The best thing to remember is that it will all be over and forgotten just as quickly as it happens. Chin up xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  4. April says:

    hmm for my oldest it was terrible two’s and trying threes! oh the threes were worse! The youngest is doing fine at 2, not so bad a few tantrums here and there but he is a go with the flow kind of guy. The middle one, well we are finding out how stubborn she can be at the age of 5, I wish we could go back to her being two! I think it just depends on the kid! Hang in there mom!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mai Stone says:

    We had a bathtub pooper, too – our oldest, Zani. Seems like once they start it’s hard to get them to stop. Every time she got in water it made her need to poop. Grossest thing ever! As for the Terrible Twos – I think it depends on the child. Zani still hasn’t gotten out of that stage. She’s been in it now for 38 years. No, for real. I’m serious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

