Loss For Words

Posted: January 23, 2015 in family, kids, parenting, tween
Tags: ,

This has not been the greatest of weeks for us. Tuesday we got the call about the blood work they did on Oldest. She has signs of pre diabetes. Her sugar and insulin levels were high and her vitamin d level was low. So they gave me a prescription of vitamin d pills for her to take for 30 days. Also we have to get an appointment with an endocrinologist for her. Wednesday I took her in for the xray. We were in and out within 15 minutes then did a couple of errands and went home. About 2 hours later the doctors office called…they said the xray showed that she did have Scoliosis.  It’s hard for me to believe it. This girl has never been sick other then a cold. Never been hospitalized, never a broken bone. So this hit us hard. The nurse told us that they would call back soon with phone numbers for the orthopedic doctor and endocrinologist.  I got off the phone and her dad and I cried and hugged.  We decided not to tell her about it until she goes to the doctors. Later that day, they called with the numbers for me to make the appointments. I called the orthopedist first. Got the appointment set for Wednesday the 28th. I called the endocrinologist office and they have to call me back. The files were in the doctors office but she has to look them over and they will call me back. If not today by Monday for sure.

Oldest asked me this morning if I had heard from the doc about the x rays. I told her she has another appointment Wednesday and we will find out more then. Which is not a lie, they didn’t tell me how bad she was on the phone. We looked it up online to see what treatments are available.  We want to  know something about it when we go in.

Other then that, I am at a loss for words. But so many thoughts are going through my head.

Comments
  1. April says:

    Oh Hon! I am so sorry! I feel like an ass for crying all week about my job situation. There is nothing worse than an ill child, and you can’t do anything about it! Hugs to you and what you are going through!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amommasview says:

    My thoughts are with you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Charlie says:

    *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh no! There is nothing worsr than bad news about a child! I’ll be offering up prayers for your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jimgormanjr says:

    Hang in there, you all will get through it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

