Doctor’s Appointment

Posted: January 14, 2015 in family, toddlers, tween, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I have to take both girls to the doctor’s this Friday. I have been putting it off and putting it off. I hate to put the little one through the torture of getting shots, so I tend to forget when it is time to go. This time, Oldest will need some shots as well since she is 11. Been over a year since I took her in for a checkup. Time does seem to fly.

Last year, I made her first appointment with this doctor when it was time to take Little L in for her 3 month checkup. A day or two before, we had noticed that Oldest had a lump on her back. Not really a lump, I guess, but one side is larger then the other.  It never has bothered her, she didn’t even know that it was there. We pressed on it and she said it didn’t even hurt.  So the night before the appointment, she was getting out of the shower, her dad told her to hurry and get dressed so we could look at her back again. We both went in and she pulled her top up and bent over slightly. Hubby pressed on the area and Oldest just up and passed out on us. We almost dropped her, it happened so fast. He caught her just in time, before her head hit the sink. He carried her in and laid her on the bed and went to get the car while I packed the diaper bag. We were headed to the ER. Oldest woke up shivering, asking what happened. I remember saying over and over she was fine, she passed out. We were going to the hospital. She managed to get her clothes changed and some shoes on. Little L had just fallen asleep too, but woke up when we got in the car.

We got there and it wasn’t crowded since it was late, so they took us right away. We didn’t have to wait long for the doctor to come and see her either. After asking a crapload of questions, she looked at her back. She followed her spine and it is correct. Then she took her down for x-rays. She came back and we waited for the results. The x-rays showed nothing. The doctor couldn’t explain why her back was like that. We thought that pressing on the spot made her pass out, but that wasn’t it. She had the  shower water too hot and it got to her. We were thankful that she hadn’t passed out while in the shower. The doctor told us to follow up with her pediatric doctor the next day and gave us a paper to take with us to put in her records.

At their appointment, the nurse looked it over, then looked at her back. She didn’t know why it was like that either. All that was said that if it got worse, to either go back to the ER or come back to them. We hadn’t thought about it much until now. Her back is still like that, and still doesn’t bother her when it is touched. So Friday,  I am going to make them look at it again. I want more of an answer. I want to know that she is ok. Not, if it gets worse. Well it hasn’t gone away so that tells me that it needs to be checked out more. Right?

The best worst part will be watching her get shots. Who am I kidding, I will probably cry too. 🙂

Comments
  1. KaboodleMum says:

    Have you thought about scoliosis (i think thats how its spelt) its a curve of the spine, it can sometimes make the shape of a persons back look different. May be worth a google 🙂

    Like

  2. Lyndsi says:

    Ugh shots I always put them off too. It is something that I simply cannot do. I make her dad take her. I have always had a needle phobia so I make him take her under the guise that I don’t want to pass on those feelings to her.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anxious Mom says:

    That’s scary, I hope you get answers!

    Good luck with the shots; I love seeing how much our little girl (6.5 months) has grown, but those shots are brutal.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. How scary to have her pass out! Glad it wasn’t aserious. Please let us know what the doc says about her back.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

