No peeking!

Posted: December 23, 2014 in Christmas, family, tween, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

When I was growing up, we were allowed to open one present on Christmas Eve. Usually it was pajamas or new slippers. One time, I actually got to open one from my grandma. It was a Western Barbie with her very own horse, called Midnight. I still remember opening it, even though that has been years ago. My mom called my grandma to tell her that I opened it and I loved it. I was into Barbies so it was a great gift. That was the last Christmas I got to spend with my grandma. She passed on in early spring of the following year. Maybe that is why I remember the gift so.

midnightwesternbarbie

My hubby doesn’t believe in opening gifts early. He always says no then at the last minute, he leaves it up to me. Of course I am gonna let her open up a present, and he knows that. But he says the same thing every year, that nothing should get opened til Christmas morning. He said that he always waited when he was growing up. He also never took a quick peek either, he didn’t want to know what he got. He wanted to be surprised.

I don’t think it hurts anything to open up a gift 12 hours early. I think it just ads to the excitement yet to come. The ripping of the paper, the gleam in their little eyes. I just love it!

When I got older I was the one that liked to take a looksy at what I got, early. I remember the last time I actually did this. It was one afternoon right after I got home from school. I had been wanting these earrings I had seen and there was a little box just about that size up in my mom’s closet. So I decided to take a look, wouldn’t hurt. I got the box down, carefully pulled one of the corners loose, just enough to slide the box out of the paper. My mom was well known to put a hundred pieces of tape on a package. I guess she knew! I got the box out and opened, and I did find a pair of earrings, but not the ones I wanted. These were like the exact opposite of what I wanted. Needless to say I was disappointed. I put the box back in the paper and matched up the tape marks best I could. I wished that I had never looked. But now I knew on Christmas morning to act surprised anyways, not wanting to hurt feelings.

Oldest has done really good about not looking. I did threaten her awhile back and told her that if she looked, I would take everything she found back. So that was the incentive right there. She later on told me that a friend of hers told her that he found a new Xbox one in the closet and a gift card to buy more games. He just knew it was for him. I asked her how, it could have been for the whole family. Pretty expensive gift just for one person. She agreed and said he did have a brother. Then she said that she didn’t want to know what she got, that she wanted to be surprised on Christmas morning. 🙂

 

Comments
  1. Anxious Mom says:

    We used to do family presents on christmas eve and santa claus on christmas day. I always loved our christmas eve tradition ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Trista Souza says:

    I am doing a box for each of my littles to open on Christmas Eve consisting of their Christmas PJ’s, a movie, hot chocolate, and a bag of popcorn :)) and yes I found the idea on Pinterest but loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

