Just One More Present

Posted: December 21, 2014 in Christmas, December, family, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

How many presents are enough for an 18 month old??

Back when oldest was the only child and she was 3 and a half, one of my sister in laws came into some money. She decided that she was going to buy my daughter a mountain of gifts for Christmas that year. You should have seen the tree, it was just really unbelievable. It got to a point that I told her to stop, because I couldn’t compete with all that she was buying. That poor kid was so overwhelmed come Christmas morning, that she didn’t really play with anything. Plus it made it really hard to buy for her over the next couple of years, because she had so much and she had just about everything you could imagine.

When I was growing up, it was me and my two brothers. I was the youngest, my oldest brother didn’t live with us. My mom bought my brother and I the same amount of presents and my oldest brother a few less. She always tried to make it “even” she said. I don’t know if she did this when I was really little, but there was 7 years between the one brother and myself. So I am sure he got a few more things then I did when I was still a toddler.

This year, I bought Little L 4 nice gifts. I got Oldest 9. My mom got Little L 5 gifts and Oldest 7. While I was wrapping some things today, she said that she thought she needed one more thing for Little L. I told her I didn’t think so what she got her was sure to be enough. “Well, I just feel like I didn’t get her enough.” she tells me.  She was trying to make things “even” between the two. I knew what she was doing. I had told her when we started shopping that it was only fair that Oldest gets more. She is 11, and no she doesn’t do toys, she does teenage things, like music, makeup, clothes. Also, I did not want to overwhelm little L by buying her a ton of toys. We went back and forth for a few minutes, I was trying to talk her out of buying one more present for L. I sure hope I succeeded. 🙂

Comments
  1. I was wondering the same thing. What is an appropriate # for all ages? And we have had the same dilemma where the extended family ends up buying more than Santa. After years of asking for cut backs, I think we have it down.

    Like

  2. I agree with you. I think kids appreciate each gift more if they get less.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. April says:

    lol I think when they are little there doesn’t need to be huge amounts of gifts. My son is two and he will be getting less than his older sisters.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. xoxolovedee says:

    We get the kids 1 big present and a few things they need. They’re happy to get anything. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

