The Thought That Counts

Posted: December 18, 2014 in Christmas, funny, humor, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

So what do you get the person that wants everything, but doesn’t need or even use it after you get it for them? That is my mom…one of the hardest people any more to buy for. Oldest had been counting the days till she could go Christmas shopping for the family.  Her daddy took her out Sunday night to get mine. Although they said she didn’t buy one thing for me, then mysteriously disappeared into the garage for about 30 minutes Monday evening. She was excited to finally get to shop. I hadn’t taken her the past few times I went. Kinda hard to shop for her when she is standing right beside you.  We headed out on Monday morning to have some fun and get the rest of her shopping done. Sis and dad were gonna be easy, but this year, Oldest said we had to find something for grandma with a cat on it. That way she would actually like or use what we bought.

Two years ago, my mom hinted that she really needed flannel sheets. For that Christmas, I bought her a set.  We moved here and ended up leaving the bed that was in her room. When she bought her new one, she bought a smaller bed. No more flannel sheets. I also bought her Mickey mouse pajamas. She loves Mickey or so I thought. I have seen her in them one time and that was last Christmas. Last year, she said she needed a new pair of house shoes. Now I bought her a pair the year before, never seen her wear them. She never once told me that they were the wrong size or I would have taken them back. She told me that the arthritis in her feet made the ones she had feel tight. She even picked out the pair she wanted one day when we were out but put them back. I made my way back to that store, fought the hoard of people shopping a couple of days before Christmas, stood in a line for atleast 40 minutes for her never to wear those stupid shoes. She told me recently they were too big. OMG lady. I got the wrong size twice? HOW???

One thing that you can never go wrong with is buying that woman something with a cat on it. You see, my mom loves cats🐾 and every time she sees something with a cat on it, she just ooohs and awwws about it. Well, right before Thanksgiving, we seen a huge throw with a picture of a cat on it. The perfect present! 🎁 Of course, I couldn’t buy it then and the next time we went, it was gone. Then my mom started talking about it, hinting. But every time we went, it was no where to be found. On Sunday, I looked it up on the website and it said that the store I shopped in had it in stock. I could order it and pick it up that day. Since we were going up there, I thought I would just hold off and take another look around to see if they had it. We walked the area atleast 2 times trying to find the throw or a person to ask for help.  I finally found a sales associate and showed her the picture. Well, she didn’t speak English very well, so she just pointed in the vicinity.  We walked around the housewares area again. The next guy I found, said he hadn’t seen them, but check in the back at the site to store area. Oldest and I eventually made our way back there, after picking up Little L’s present. The line was long. Long enough I wasn’t standing in it. So we went on. A little while later, we headed back to the back to see if the line had died down. It had. I walked right up to the counter and there was an assistant manager working. I showed her the picture and asked where it was. She said that she had actually tried to find it the day before and couldn’t. I told her that there were a ton up front right before Thanksgiving, but the person I wanted it for was with me. The next time they were gone. I said there is no way you sold out of them that quick. There were just too many. She just shook her head and said sorry. Then threw in that if I did find them in the store to come back and let her know.

We gave up after that and started looking at other things. After another 20 minutes of walking around that store, the only damn thing we could find was a night gown with drawn on cats. We also found a cat calendar to go with it. Oh boy, yeah, score! *sarcasm in case you couldn’t tell*  They say that it is the thought that counts, right? I sure hope that that’s true.  I like practical gifts. I asked for pillows and that is what she got me. Pillows…nice, new, fluffy, can’t wait till Christmas night to sleep on those bad boys…Pillows! 🙂

Comments
  1. Tell me about it! Hard time finding hubby a present is always a challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. xoxolovedee says:

    Lol omg! This is why y family started the under 16 rule. They’re the only ones who get gifts. Spouses are the exception. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

