Meowy Christmas

Posted: December 5, 2014 in Christmas, December, funny, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

To start off this first weekend of December, I thought I would post something fun. Hope you enjoy!

Anyone that has or had cats, will relate to what I am about to say. I read a really cute Christmas poem on a blog the other day, (go ahead and check it out here.) It made me remember my experiences with kitty cats at Christmas. I had cats growing up but only had one that got to stay inside all the time. We always had a real tree and she never really bothered it. I remember her chewing on the bottom limbs or swatting at the tinsel. My mom bought her her very own kitty ornaments, that she could play with. She got a new one every year. When I moved out on my own, the first Christmas I didn’t have a cat, the second one, I had 2, but I had a small artificial tree that they didn’t seem interested in. When I got cat number 3, she was a kitten at Christmas time, and thought the tree was just wonderful. I was spending the holidays with my parents and my mom and I went shopping. When we got home, my dad had said my cat broke one of the ornaments. Well of course she did, and what did you know, it was one of my ornaments that I had put high up on the tree. He later told me that he saw her batting at it, but didn’t think it would break.

cattree3

The next Christmas I put up my tree at my house. The first night, I got in bed and I heard it. Tink tink tink. What the heck? Oh my ornaments. The little buggers had left it alone the whole day, now the lights were out, it was time to play. The next day, I  walked into the living room to find one cat actually hanging out of the middle of it, when I yelled, she knocked the whole tree over!

catintree     catknockdowntree

That’s it, I was not going to have them tear up my tree. I ran out to the store and bought some of that spray stuff that is supposed to keep the animals away from the tree.  That night, I sprayed and sprayed to keep kitty away. It stunk so badly that I wanted to hide. No kidding. The one cat, that liked the ornaments, he backed down the hallway, very slowly, and kept looking at me as to say, “What the hell did you do woman??” It did keep him off of it as long as I sprayed it every night.

So at the last minute, my (now ex) jerk husband, got leave for a few days and wanted to go home. Ok, I asked the neighbor if she would feed and water the cats. Done. Now what do I do with the darn tree. I didn’t want to take it down. I knew it would be destroyed if I left it out in the living room. I know *light bulb* I would carry it into the spare bedroom that was mainly storage and just close the door. Well that was easier said then done. I asked for help, but never got it. So I had to drag the damn tree through the house and down the hallway. Losing ornaments and screaming at the cats to get away every step. I must have looked like a lunatic, now thinking back. But it was safe and sound in the room. When we got back, he actually helped me carry it back out to the living room and you know what, the silly ass cats left it alone the rest of time it was up.

Meowy Christmas! 🐾

cattree

cattree2

cattree4

 

 

Comments
  1. xoxolovedee says:

    Lol, they were probably terrified of it after it carried mum down the hall. Oh the joys of owning kitties. Great post!😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

