Christmas Crafts part 1

Posted: December 4, 2014 in Christmas, crafts, December, family, kids, Santa, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Yeah, it’s finally time to start on some Christmas crafts. Oldest and I got one of the foam craft kits complete. It is a Nativity scene that is way cute.

20141114_220039

We are halfway through the second one. Some of the stickers keep falling off and it is slowing us down. I like the kits that are stickers, but this one just don’t want to stay put.

Our other project is doing some salt dough ornaments. I found a set of 5 cookie cutters in Walgreen’s for .99 cent. Can’t beat that, right? Nope, I jumped on that bad boy as soon as I seen it. We made the first batch last week when oldest got done with school. Then I got the bright idea, I actually blame pinterest though, to make handprint santa’s. Oldest did hers, then I had to get Little L’s. Which was not so easy. She didn’t want to play in the dough. Oh come on, if I wanted her to stay out, she would have cried and wanted to play in it. This time, it was the other way around. I put some on a plate and brought it in the living room, sat down on the table and said play. She wasn’t going for it. I think she knew I was up to something. I gave up after awhile and went on to make dinner. Afterwards, I asked hubby to help me get her to do it. I put some more on a plate, and we sat down together on the couch. Little L was curious, she was definitely circling the area but kept telling us no when we said come play with it. Hubby got an idea to put his hand right above it and he made a weird humming noise then he took his hand down. He did this over and over, she got closer and closer and then started putting her hand near it. Took a few more times, and she was actually hovering her hand over top. He took his shot and smooshed her hand down into the dough. You should have heard the cries. I grabbed the plate and headed back into the kitchen, while he consoled the screaming mislead child!

They turned out pretty cute, if I do say so myself. 20141203_221241Here are some of the ornaments that we have gotten done. Well, mostly that is. Some needs some finale touches.

20141203_221314Thanks for looking, more to come soon! πŸ™‚

 

Comments
  1. Such cute hand ornaments! I LOVE them! And they’ll be awesome keepsakes of your kiddos hands. Thanks for sharing them with us!
    ~ Mai

    Liked by 1 person

  2. xoxolovedee says:

    I want to make the Santa hands. They look great! Great idea! Maybe this weekend..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. in567 says:

    Beautiful Nativity scene. Craft-astic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

