Fall Finally Arrived

Posted: November 6, 2014 in Halloween, kids, tween, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

It was bound to happen, sure took it long enough too. Here in the desert, Fall finally arrived over the weekend. We had very warm weather for Halloween, which was nice. We didn’t have to walk around with jackets on or umbrellas! Saturday hit and the temps dropped down into the 80’s and today they were in the low 70’s. Last night, it got down to 50. We had to shut all the windows we had opened and turn off the ceiling fans. It was a really nice change of pace. The 90+ degree temps all October was starting to get to me. Oh don’t get me wrong, I still love hot weather, but enough was enough, ya know.

Our Halloween was pretty nice, once we got going. At the last minute, my daughters friend asked if we wanted to walk around with them. We went out with them last year, and we had a good time. They wanted to come up to our side of town, which was fine by me, but they were late getting here due to make up malfunction.  I had the bright idea to take Little L to a few houses. I had been planning this for weeks and she was all excited to get to go out, but once they showed up she started to cry. I think being outside in the dark got to her. Then we started to get into the truck and we lost her pacifier. She didn’t really need it, but we carry it with us just for a safety net. I looked all over for it and they all had their flashlights scanning the ground, but no one found it. We went on and I finally got her to calm down. At the last house we took her too, which was only 3, she started to mellow out and like what we were doing. When she got in the truck and looked in her bucket, the look on her face was priceless. Daddy took her home and I jumped in the car with them and we were on our way.

Where we went was right up the road, but there were alot of houses lit up and decorated. There was even a haunted house that one family put on in their garage. We went through it, but my daughters friend was a little scared so the ones running it told the people inside to keep it calm. It was still spooky the way they did it, instead of jumping out at you, they stood very still as you walked by. CREEPY. They had this one really tall guy dressed as a scary clown. He peaked out from behind a curtain and honked a horn at us. When we were done, we circled back around to the front of the house and the little girl that had gotten in front of me waved at what you thought was a statue with a mask on, standing at the corner of the house. He didn’t say anything but raised one finger up to his mouth as to say shhhh. I seen this and chills ran down my arms.

After about an hour and a half we were done. Oldest got a bunch of candy and it was mainly all the good stuff like reeses and milky ways. I ate more chocolate the next day then I had in the past 4 months. My mom even bought 2 bags, even though I told her we wouldn’t get any trick or treaters on our street.

When we got home that night, I found out that daddy had found the paci up under the front seat in the truck. Little L was fast asleep and didn’t make a peep when we got in. Daddy had let her play with the candy she got. She had fun squeezing it in her little hands, in the wrapper of course. She squeezed it until it melted and the candy was just a crumpled gooey mess. But it definitely kept her busy for the time we were gone.

100_3068

100_3072

Doesn’t she look scary!

Leave a Reply

