Afraid of the Dark

Posted: October 30, 2014 in Daughter, funny, Halloween, scary, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

 

darkafraid

My oldest has the smallest bedroom in the house. I usually go in her room right before I go to bed and turn off the t.v. for her. She sleeps right through it too. When the t.v. goes off, that is the darkest room ever! I. hate. it!  When I was growing up, my room was right off the dining room. It was a good size room too. Since I had to walk through the dining room and living room to get to a bathroom at night, my mom put in a night light so I could see. Not only that I was and still am afraid of the dark. To this day, I remember coming out of the bathroom and running back to my room as fast as I could. I wasn’t even allowed to watch scary movies back then, so I can’t even blame my fears on Freddy or Jason.

Also, in my daughters room, her closet door doesn’t like to stay shut. It drives me nuts. When I see it open, even in the day, I have to shut it. She is unaware of my weird phobias, thank goodness. I try not to act like it is a big deal but there is something about an opened dark ass closet that freaks me the *@#$@ out! My closet is always shut, and I can usually tell when she goes in it, she leaves it opened  just a crack. She used to come in our room early in the morning, since the bathroom that she uses is also ours. She would then go into the closet to change clothes, when done, she would leave the door opened just enough, that when I woke up I would jump every time. I finally asked her about it, she said that she didn’t want to wake Little L up with shutting the door. I told her to either shut the darn door or wait till everyone is up and then change clothes. Better yet, take your outfit into your room the night before…duh. (She has a dresser but has other stuff crammed into it, and her closet is more for storage.)

I’m not only a coward in my house but going outside after dark also gets me. Oldest and I had put a spiderweb in her window as a Halloween decoration. It is pretty good size and has lights on it. She wanted to go out the other night to see it. We got outside and rounded the corner and it is really really dark out for only being like 7 p.m. The street is quiet which makes it even more spooky. We looked at the decoration and then she decided to run across the street to check the mailbox. I didn’t want her to go, but she did anyways. I just happened to look up and across the street I saw a dark figure. At first it looked like it was standing then it looked like it was walking down our way. I didn’t want to scare her, but I did holler and say hurry up. She started back across and the figure was still there. We headed up to the front of the house and I still had a feeling of dread. I had to look one more time just to see if it was still standing or walking towards us. I looked and saw…a very big, spooky trash can sitting by another bunch of mailboxes. I laughed to myself as we headed into the house. I didn’t tell her but I did tell my hubby about it later on that night.

So every night it is the same thing. I get in her room, ready to turn the t.v. off and I always glance at that closet door right before the room goes dark. Oldest is peacefully sleeping behind me and I am still a big coward and do a power walk out of her room. Silently praying that she didn’t leave a shoe in the way as I go. 🙂

fearofdark

 

Comments
  1. etenwa says:

    Your fear of the dark brings out so much light in your writing. Great stuff this!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elyse says:

    Oddly enough…that was one of my favorite shows growing up!

    I must admit, when I leave my downstairs to go to bed for the night, I hustle up as soon as I turn the lights out. I can’t look at windows because “black glass” freaks me out! Can’t see if someone is looking in at me.

    xoxo Elyse

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

