Growing Up

Posted: October 14, 2014 in birthday, Daughter, family, parenting, tween, tween girls, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

As you all know, the ones that read my little blog, my oldest is turning 11 very soon. She is going to be the dreaded tweeny bopper. That is what I have been calling her and she seems to like it. So let me back up and fill you in…at the beginning of the month, we were shopping and my hubby broke down and bought the oldest one of them silly tweeny bopper mags. I was actually going to buy her the first one on her birthday, but he beat me too it. Oh well. He scored major dad points that day. So a few days ago, we run out to pick up a few items, and she has her 5 dollars burning a whole in her pocket from the tooth fairy. She spies another magazine. The first one she immediately hung up all the posters, and couldn’t wait to hang these new ones up too.

Back when we moved into this house, we had bought some really cutesy girly stickers. The kind that are reusable. The Dollar Tree sells some really nice ones. We bought flowers, butterflies, and of course peace signs. We spent one afternoon putting stickers all over her walls and it really livened up the room. Fast forward a year and a half, she tells she wants to take the stickers down. I told her that I didn’t know right where I had put the backings to the stickers and why didn’t she just hang the posters over top. She thought for a minute and agreed, saying that if she took the posters down, she would still have something on the wall. Sounded great to me.

The next morning, after breakfast, she heads off to her room. Being on Fall break, I figured she was off to listen to her music and watch those silly videos she likes. I went into her room about 30 minutes later to see if she actually did her paper that is due next Wednesday, that she had been putting off writing.  I walked in to find a crumpled up pile of stickers on her desk and bare walls. I didn’t know what to say. I started picking them up and I looked at her. It was like a knife to the heart. Now you may think that I am being over dramatic, they are just stickers, yada yada yada. But it was more, much more. It was a piece of her and me. A time where we spent just hanging out, doing girly stuff. She says I never hang out with her, I say your always hiding in your room. Come out and play.

I picked up the stickers and headed out of her room and slammed the door behind me. I didn’t mean to slam the door, it just happened. But it was a good effect. Her dad saw me and he instantly knew what was wrong. He got up and went straight to her room.   She came into my room and started trying to take the clump she made back apart. I told her to leave it, I would do it. I would just hang the stickers up over Little L’s bed. Her dad said she had to put some back up so she took all the peace ones and I kept the rest. Her dad also told her she was grounded and no sleep over on Saturday night. Oh no…not the sleep over. That is when her attitude changed and she was determined to hang up stickers.

After awhile, I calmed down, and went into her room to do what I originally set out to do. I was sitting at the laptop reading over her paper and she asked me if I was mad. I told her I wasn’t mad, I was sad. Those stickers meant something to me. She then told me that she wasn’t a little kid anymore. She was going to be 11 soon and she wanted a change. I told her that was fine. I was holding back what I really wanted to say. I wanted to tell her no, she couldn’t grow up, she had to stay my little baby forever.  She was still my baby girl no matter.  Then she said her dad told her she was grounded, no sleep over. I didn’t say anything. She waited several minutes and asked if she was really grounded. I gave in and said no, you can still go. We hugged and that was that. She went on to talk about how cute this boy was and how awesome that boy sang. I sat and listened. She even had me rate each band members picture 1 to 10. I kept giving them low scores and she would get mad. She finally got tired of it and went to play with Little L.

I sat for a few more minutes, taking it all in.

 

 

Comments
  1. But … but … 10 and 11 are both so young! I remember thinking I was above all that then, too, but it seems absurd from here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. warburk2013 says:

    Hi Mom of 1 and 10: there are so many awesome Mom moments ahead for you speaking as a Mom of 32 and 30. Savour, enjoy. precious days.

    Like

Leave a Reply

