I Want to go to a Pumpkin Patch!

Posted: September 23, 2014 in Daughter, Fall, family, funny, Halloween, kids, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

I used to never enjoy Fall. It meant going back to school, and back east, it turned cold as soon as September 1st arrived. Now, living in the desert, and loving hot weather, I never thought I would actually miss the changing of the seasons. The leaves turning into colors of orange and yellow. The fact that my kids don’t get to feel the crispness in the air. Makes me very sad. I have been telling my hubby that we need to move. I miss grass. It does sound odd, but I do. All we have here is rocks and sand.

So now that it is almost the end of September, I am in the mood to go to a pumpkin patch. We got to go last year, for a school field trip. It was rather fun and we wanted to go back. Well…this year, the school has two planned, one that is 2 hours away, and another that is 3 hours away. You have to be joking. Why would they schedule these trips like that. Doing online school, you have to find your own way to where the field trip is. I am not getting up at 4 am to leave at 6 am to be there by 9 am and have to leave at 12 noon. This is when one is actually closing for the day.

I was thinking about this earlier today and how much of a bummer it is, when I remembered the time we were living in Washington. We found a pumpkin patch really close to where we were and went in the middle of the week. My hubby doesn’t like big crowds, so we try to plan stuff during the week, not the weekends. When we got to the patch, the lady took our money and told us that we get a free small pumpkin when we left. Cool, we like pumpkins. There was a hay maze and of course, the pumpkin patch but everything else was closed till the weekend. That was fine. We amused ourselves with the pumpkin patch, I took tons of pictures of  Little T by the scarecrow, by the pumpkins, by the hay maze entrance, in the hay maze. If there is a photo op I am gonna take it!

Being on the plump side, I didn’t want to go through the hay maze. Daddy and Little T went through it several times. I stood to the side and watched, laughing and enjoying the fun Little T was having. They took a break and Little T said I needed to go through it, just once. I said no over and over again. Came up with every excuse I could. She would not let it go. I finally gave in, and said yes. She wanted me to go first. I think she knew if I went last, then I could easily get out. I stood firm and made her go first. Well since she had been through it so many times, she knew her way. She was done before I got a quarter of the way in, it seemed. We were laughing and I was crawling when all of a sudden we came upon a really tight area. I went to go through, and got stuck. OMG I am stuck in the freaking hay maze. I told Little T I was stuck, she was behind me now, so she turned around and went back out to tell her dad. Well while she is doing that, I am cussing and fuming, how could they make this so flippin tight I kept saying over and over. There were no warning, no restrictions, or I would have definitely not went in. I got soooo mad, that I tried to turn around and forgot that there was hay above my head. Under that hay was a very hard 2 x 4 that when I raised up, I slammed my head into. I hit so hard, I thought I was gonna pass out.  It took me several minutes to shake it off.  I got even madder that I did this that something came over me and I got myself unstuck. I really don’t know how I did it, but I was free. Thank God. I told my hubby what happened. He asked if I was ok and I said yes, thought so. We ended up leaving shortly after this. But before we did, we went to pick out our pumpkin and I told the lady that there was a tight area and I got stuck for a few minutes. I also told her I hit my head. She didn’t seem too concerned. I guess since I made it out ok, she didn’t think it was too important.

The one we went to last year, was much bigger and they had all kinds of animals to look at and feed. Little L was only 3 months old, so she didn’t get to do a lot. That is another reason I want to go this year. She would definitely have fun!

100_1438  100_1457

Comments
  1. I’m waiting for the Great Pumpkin to rise up slowly from the Pumpkin Patch!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

