Hand-Me-Downs

Posted: September 8, 2014 in Daughter, family, girls, kids, postaday, toddlers, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Hand-me-down

A garment or other item that has been passed on from another person.

 

I dressed little L in her big sister’s hand-me-down dress today. It’s sleeveless, with dark pink, yellow and green flowers, so dainty looking. She is so adorable in it. Of course, I am a bit biased, being mommy and all! I got out my scrapbook that I have of her sister, and found the pictures I took so long ago. The pictures of my little T, dancing about the yard, one hot summer morning. We were staying at my mom’s house back in West Virginia that summer. We were on our way out west and wanted her to get to know her granddaughter before we left in the fall.

It is funny how when you get an image in your mind, a memory, if you will, of someone, then look at a picture and you realize that your memories were of what you wanted, not what you got. I remembered her smiling and dancing around, and I could have sworn she had a purse and sunglasses on. Oh yea, she did, but that was a different day, a different dress.  She was dancing in the pic, but not really smiling. I then  remembered it being so hot and humid that morning. She was patiently waiting on us to get ready to go shopping. I could see it in her eyes, she was not thrilled about the whole thing. Her face was much thinner then I remembered also. Little L’s face is rounder, but then I remember too, that Little L is only 14 and a half months old. Little T was atleast 20 months, maybe more. Oh gosh, Little L is wearing 18 months at 14 months, that’s not good, I thought. Little T was always taller then most so I always had to buy bigger with her, and still do.

I only kept a small amount of Little T’s baby clothes. I carried all them around for several years, and thought I would never  have another baby. (Well never say never!)  I gave away tons of clothes, some even had the tags still on them. I only kept what was really sentimental to me. When Little L was born, she was a summer baby, where Little T was a fall baby. I couldn’t bring L home in long sleeves, not here in the desert. Some of the outfits have worked out tho. I kept a handful of onesies that Little L still sleeps in at night. They are getting a little tight on her, but should last until fall finally hits here and we have to switch to long pants.

My big idea was to take some pictures of Little L today wearing that same pretty little dress. In my mind, I wanted her to dance around and be silly and laugh. I would just stand back and snap away. Little L had different plans. She needed a nap in a bad way, so no pictures of her smiling.  I would just have to wait till later, after her nap. I did get a few frowns and cries. She was trying to get my camera in most of them, as usual.

As I was putting Little L down for that much needed nap, I got to thinking how my mom never kept anything I wore when I was a toddler. Other then shoes. I found a couple of pairs not long ago, that she says my brothers and I both wore. But no outfits, no cute little dresses, no frilly little hats. This made me kinda sad, but at the same time I was happy that I did actually keep some things from Little T’s toddler days, and I will keep some things from Little L’s also. Hopefully they will cherish those items and let their baby’s wear those wonderful old hand-me-downs.

 

The Daily Post Daily Prompt: Hand-Me-Downs

 

Comments
  1. […] of my blogs I wrote  this past Sunday, was about Hand-Me-Downs. Yesterday, on the Daily Post they wanted people to write about Hand-Me-Downs and they would post […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

