Just a walk in the park. (Literally)

Posted: September 3, 2014 in funny, kids, parenting, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Last night my daughter wanted to go to the park. “Please mommy lets go. We haven’t been there for so long.” It was true, since this summer had been so hot, we have stayed in doors for the most part. We went alot in the spring, little L was starting to walk and she loved exploring. My oldest wanted me to pinky swear that we would go, I told her I would think abour it.

Well, dinner got off to a late start so no, we didn’t go. Oldest gave me the silent treatment for awhile. (Man do I get those alot around here.) After her shower, I sat her down and told her we would go in the morning. “You promise,” she asked. “Yes, we will go in the morning after breakfast.” Doing online school does have its advantages, ya know.
When I was tucking her in last night she said that she wanted me to pinky swear. I asked why. “Because you always tell me if I pinky swear I can’t go back on it.” Ok so I pinky swore we would go.

We made it there about 10 a.m. It was already hot, but it was fine. We got on the swings first. It was nice, just the two of us. Spending some much needed quality time together. Then she started talking about the first time we came to this park. She was swinging and her dad and I were pushing little L in her stroller. It was starting to get windy so her dad told her we were ready to go. She was trying to get her swing to stop, and somehow, her foot got caught on the rubber matting stuff and she flipped out of the swing and face planted underneath it. She was lying on the ground, looking at us with a *what just happened?* expression. “OMG are you ok?” we both said. She said yes, slowly got up and dusted her self off. Luckily she didn’t cry, even though I think she would have liked too. I know I would have! But today when we talked about it, we laughed so hard. She was like, “Leave it to me to be the only one to face plant. And how the heck did I end up under the swing??” “Hey everyones looking at me, I must be so popular!” I lost it when she said that, laughed so hard I had to stop swinging in fear that I would do the same. 🙂

She started playing with some younger kids who were there with their mom, and I went on a walk around the parks perimeter. As I was walking, I was thinking about what a great kid she is. She can definitely be a handful at times, but I wouldn’t change her. I was happy that she did make me pinky swear!
image

Leave a Reply

