Birthday

Posted: September 3, 2014 in birthday, funny, kids, toddlers
Tags: ,

When my little L was getting close to her 1st Birthday, I had made up my mind to make her cake myself. Years ago, I had made her sister her first cake, so I wanted it to be a special tradition. After the first one, it is store bought with all the cute little themes and toys on top.

Now for the one I made 8 years ago, it was a simple one layer cake, nothing fancy. It was a white cake with white icing. I know, usually you get chocolate for the first time on that special day, but believe me, she didn’t miss a thing. She gets plenty of chocolate! I remember her birthday really well. She sat in her highchair and actually ate with a spoon. We even put peaches on it, which she loved. Yes peaches…my husband has always said, peaches with cake, ice cream with pie. Try it, you’ll see! 🙂

Over the years, I have been trying to be a little more on the creative side. I decided to go online and try to find some ideas for 1st birthdays. I found several, mostly too advanced for my creative skills to handle. (Like who are you kidding? Betty Crocker lives here or something!) After searching for sometime, I came upon a video on how to make the cake look like the number one. Yes, this is it! I thought. Something unique for her special day! I saved a diaper box for the cardboard, you know, the giant economy size box. I wanted to have enough space. One side to lay the cake on and one side to cut the number out of. With the help of my hubby, (he did all of the work), the number cutout was pretty much perfect.

I went to the store and picked out the cake mix, the one with the rainbow sprinkles in the mix. My oldest helped pick out the icing. We went with purple. Then we got some that came in cans so we could decorate the outer edge and write her name. The night before I baked it up and let it set till morning. While she took her nap, my husband, my oldest and I got the 1 design cut out. Moving it to the foil covered cardboard was a bit of a problem. It wanted to fall apart. So we smooshed it back together and opened the icing. YIKES! I didn’t think about letting it set in the fridge overnight, it had melted and was almost runny. We started putting it on anyways, and it just got worse. The icing was dripping and the cake falling apart. I was so upset. My husband kept telling me it would be ok once all the icing was on. So we plugged along, and actually started to laugh about the whole thing.

20140618_103535

After putting all the icing on and using the cans around the edges, we realized what we needed was more icing!  We all piled into the van, little L wearing her “It’s My Birthday” t-shirt. All set for her day. Actually, she didn’t have a clue and was happy to get to go for a ride. We bought more of the cans to finish the edges and I bought another tub of the purple just for good measure. Then daddy had to take us into the toys. He put the birthday girl on the floor and told her to pick out a toy. She went straight for an Elmo doll. He sings a song and the abc’s and tells about shapes and colors. She was dancing in the isle to the song, over and over. We had a winner!

After adding a ton more icing, (I think we over did it),  we finally finished the cake and was ready for opening of the presents. Little L  was a bit overwhelmed and couldn’t seem to get into the spirit of things. My oldest by now was mad, ’cause I told her she could have a piece of cake and it was taking forever to get to that point. Birthday girl didn’t eat her cake with a spoon, she would rather play with the spoon then use it the way I show her. She ate with her hands, which was fine and this kid is not crazy about peaches. Give her watermelon tho and she will tear it up, I tell ya what! .

All in all we survived. The baby got new toys, the oldest got her cake and I, well I got the joy of cleaning everything up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

