A Trip to the Grocery Store

Posted: September 2, 2014 in funny, kids, toddlers
Tags: , , ,

Well, we spent our day, the first day of September, at a wonderful, magical place I like to call the Grocery Store. Oh yes folks, you heard me right. No cookouts for us, no playing in the pool one last time. Nope, we wanted to go where everybody goes and nobody knows your name…

Usually my hubby sits out on the grocery shopping trips. This time, for some reason, he wanted to go. I really hate when he does because we buy so much more stuff and most of the time it gets wasted. When he said he wanted to go, I said ok like whateves. I didn’t think he would actually do it. Since he was going that means little L got to go too. I plan my shopping when I know he is going to be around, so I don’t have to drag her with me. It is just less stressful on my part. Although she cries when I leave, she is so happy to see me when I get back.

Today was the day where she should have been able to stay at home. It started out good. She was all excited, looking at everything and everyone. Then my husband took her out of the cart. Wrong move honey pie! She wanted to play and run and run some more. After a bit of a struggle and some crying , we got her back into the cart and proceeded on the shopping journey. We hadn’t gotten very far, when my oldest says “Hey, where’s her paci at??” Oh dear Lord up above! We have done it now. The paci is missing! We search the cart, her bag, retraced our steps, (we only went a foot). Nothing! Nada! Ziltch! We started looking under the pallets in the middle of the floor. Everyone down on the ground now, we have a paci to find! After some searching, and some praying, my hubby saved the day and our sanity.

After the recovery mission, we went on through the store. Little L getting ansy, not wanting to sit in the cart, so she starts grabbing at everything. I would say she was thinking,  All this food and I can’t eat any of it! We went down the can food isle and my hubby parked the cart up against the shelves and started looking at canned fruit on the other side. He calls me over, me not thinking, goes. Then I start to hear, “get her, get her”. Hey that sounds like my mom and OMG what is little L doing now. I turned around in an instant and Little L is reaching for a huge ass jar of pickles. Now I ask you, why do they still put pickles in glass jars?  Everything else is in plastic. Why not that? Now this part was pretty funny. My hubby, oldest and I start running towards the cart, but all in slow motion. I was thinking I am never gonna make it, I am NOT going to…make…it. Finally I reached out saying NOOOOOO!!! I caught the jar before it even left the shelf. Laughter commenced and a round of high fives. We got this! Whew!

Our next stop we did not park the cart up against the shelves, we left it right in the middle of the isle. Making people go around was rather fun though.

We ended up taking her out of the cart a couple more times. She just wouldn’t stay still, crying and fussing. Daddy carried her, then I carried her, then sis chased after her. I just wanted this shopping trip to end. We made it to the checkouts and got everything unloaded. We were at one of those stores that you have to bag everything yourself. Oh joy! That’s the best part about bringing hubby, I have to say. He will do all the bagging. While that was happening, and I am watching the total go up and up, Little L is just throwing a fit in the cart. I grab a can of baby cheese puffs, that she loves, and gave them to sis. I go back to watching the total and happen to look over at the girls, Little L is opening her mouth and spitting not 1, but 3 cheese puffs out into her sissy’s hand. I yelled, “Hey, becareful! Don’t choke your sister!” I got the eye roll from the oldest but I was dead serious. We made it to the car and on the ride home, Little L quietly passed out. Ahhh! She actually continued sleeping after we got home for another 2 hours. She was exhausted. Needless to say, we were too.

Another fun part about this day was after getting home I forgot the garlic bread for tonights dinner. Yippee, I get to go back to the store. But this time I went alone!

 

grocery

Leave a Reply

