Remember, Crazy is Hereditary!

Posted: September 1, 2014 in funny
Tags: ,

Sitting here on a sunday evening, enjoying some quiet time. Little L  finally went to sleep. She has had a head cold for the passed 3 days and not getting much rest has caught up with both of us.  I thought I would catch up on some things I have been wanting to do but couldn’t while she has been sick. I find myself thinking of the argument I had with my mother this morning. It wasn’t really an argument, maybe a disagreement, but it ended with her running off and slamming her door, and the silent treatment the rest of the day.

My mom thinks she is the only one in the house that can do the dishes. At first I was like cool, have at, I don’t mind. But now its getting to  be down right irritating. This morning was no different then the rest. She always circles the kitchen atleast twice to see when we will be done. Then as soon as my husband goes out to the garage, she makes her move. “Is everbody done?” She’ll ask. Then the complaining begins. Always complaining about how many utensils were used or how many plates. Always! Then it takes her a good 45 minutes to wash, rinse, dry, and put away. I take the easy route and stack in dish drainer and put away later. They are going to get used again anyways, right. She dries everything to the point of when I need to use it, I have to re-rinse to get lint from the towel off of it.

So this morning, she starts her stacking, then says “who would make such a mess?” She said it twice. I was standing on the other side of the room, and I had to ask what she was talking. I don’t think she realized I was there ’cause of the way she tried to change her words. I got a bit miffed about it and told her that she always runs in before I am done and I never get a chance to clean up my mess. Hell, I hardly have enough time to eat my food. If I have to walk away to take care of little L, she tries to throw my food away. I am 40 years old, and I get treated like a kid. She tried to say that I had a problem. Me a problem? So I told her that she was the one that made the comment. She threw the dishes down and stomped off to her room.

I told my husband and he said “Remember, crazy is hereditary.” He says this to me often. With all the crazy things my mother says and does, he says it is a warning.  (He did agree with me about the dishes.) I know I do sound like her at times, she is my mom, can’t help that. I can only hope that when I’m older and gray, and having to live with my kids, they won’t let me do the dishes. Just in case, crazy is hereditary!

Leave a Reply

