Tom Boy VS Girly Girl

Posted: August 24, 2014 in humour, parenting
Tags: ,

My daughter likes to consider herself a tomboy. I think she is a girly girl. We have this discussion at least once a week, and we never agree.

First, she loves makeup. Actually, she is obsessed with makeup. I took her to the good ole dollar store yesterday and let her pick out 5 things. She was in pure Heaven!

Second, she is constantly playing with her hair. From teasing, to straightening to curling. For her last birthday, I got her a ton of hair clips, her own shampoo and conditioner, and hairspray. She was very happy.

Third, my girl is crazy about You Tube videos. All the how to do make up to how to do braids. Anything and everything that has to do with making yourself beautiful.

Fourth, she wants to go to Beauty School when she graduates. That says it right there, folks! What do you think?

Fifth, she loves being outside, riding her bike but she gets basketball and baseball confused. I mean, come on, one is big and the other one small right!

Now for her tomboy side. She says, and it is true, that she loves mud more then barbie dolls. Give her a puddle and she will make mud. Hand her a doll and she will look at you like you have lost your mind.

She picked out camoflauged shoes when we went shopping not too long ago. At the dollar store she seen camo hair clips and barretts. She was like, “those would totally go with my shoes”.

She used to wear dresses all the time, I guess when she was eight was the last time I seen her in one. Lately I can’t get her to even look at a dress. But she does want the style of shorts that all the young girls are wearing and the pretty little tank tops too.

I have to beg her to put on deodorant. Even telling her she stinks doesn’t seem to bother her, and taking a shower, well that is a whole other story!

So there you have it in a nutshell. It’s definitely a good balance between the two. I’m still going to call her my girly girl whether she likes it or not. And I will let her play in mud and wear camo if she likes.Β  And pray that one day she will put on deodorant without me telling her too.

 

Comments
  1. Charlie says:

    My middle kid is exactly like this! She had me paint her nails last night and has more nail polish than she needs, but she also loves playing in the hose, playing in the dirt, and will loudly proclaim she is a Tom Boy. Still can’t get her to brush her hair without me begging, though….work in progress…

    Like

  2. Megan L. says:

    Ha!! She sounds absolutely perfect 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. IrishReader says:

    I have 4 daughters, I feel your pain πŸ™‚ Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

