Mom of 1 and 10

Posted: August 19, 2014 in parenting
Tags: ,

Just like my name states, I am a mom of a 10 year old and a one year old. Both girls. It’s crazy right? 9 and a half years apart, what was I thinking, and with no one in between. Just down right nuts! Well, yes and no. My oldest, being an only child for so long, was somewhat easy.

1. There was no fighting about who got the most presents at Christmas time.

2. Who got more whip cream on their desserts.

3. Who gets to ride shotgun with mom to the store. It was all laid out, nice and simple. And we were a happy little family of 3.

When I found out that I was pregnant at 40, I have to be honest, I cried and I cried a lot. Oh my God! What have we gone and done? My world was turning upside down. I couldn’t believe it. But they say things happen for a reason, and I do believe every word of that.

Nine months later we welcomed our second baby girl into the world. Now the only child was a Big Sister. But I was lucky, because with the big gap in age brought in an extra pair of hands when cuddles were needed. She hardly left her side for the first week. She was in awe! And I was too.

It hasn’t been all gummy bears and lollipops. Even tho she is older there are times when the ugly head of jealousy appears. I hear,

1.You like the baby more then me. No dear, the baby just needs me more right now.

2. Why do I have to give her ALL my stuffed animals? You are not giving them to her, you are sharing.

3. Why don’t you come play a game with me when she takes her nap? Because all tho I love you like crazy, mommy needs some quiet time before she goes insane dear.

But all in all it has been a nice little roller coaster ride over the past year. Sometimes I feel like pulling my hair out when one is crying and the other is in her “mood”, we still make it through the day together. And that I wouldn’t change for the world!

 

 

Leave a Reply

